We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent way to spend a few hours!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ChocoMuseo

ChocoMuseo
4a Calle Oriente #14, Antigua 502, Guatemala
502-7832 4520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Attractions in Antigua
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cacao and chocolate museum in Antigua, Guatemala. Learn about the history of cacao, the cacao tree and cacao in Guatemala. ChocoMuseo has its own artisanal chocolate factory which makes chocolate from organic Guatemalan cacao beans. ChocoMuseo also offers chocolate workshops to make your own chocolate. A unique experience for the whole family.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An excellent way to spend a few hours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went to the ChocoMuseo on recommendation of some friends who were there a few days ago. What a fantastic way to spend an afternoon! Pablo, our 'guide/teacher' had a ton of energy and just made the whole experience so much fun - as well as really informative! We got to try hot chocolate 'Mayan Style' and 'Spanish Style' and also got some hands-on experience how to make it from scratch (aka start with the fermented and dried choco beans). The chocolate is delicious too! Well worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    131
    52
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent place to buy chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have not participated in any of the activites here (demonstrations, classes). I have been to ChocoMuseo to buy chocolates and have been very impressed with the service, quality and array of chocolates for purchase.

I was purchasing a birthday gift, walked in, told the very helpful employee how much I wanted to spend, and he was terrific. He helped me pick a good variety of stuff and packaged it up in a cute box. I walked out of the store less than 10 minutes later. A really good experience!

I live in Antigua and want to check out the museum - it looks interesting and tasty.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Learn, have fun and make chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great fun for adults and children. You start by making your own chocolate that you get to take home at the end of the "tour." Our teacher had a ton of energy and had the kids completely engaged. It's a very hand-on experience and a nice break from site seeing. Chocolate is delicious.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't , miss it, you'll love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I did this tour with my friend and absolutely loved it. We learned about the history of chocolate but in such an interesting and energetic way, you wouldn't even realise you were learning. Pablo tells every detail with such enthusiasm that you can't help but feel passionate too. We made different types of hot chocolate drinks and got to make our own range of chocolates. Of course, I ended up buying more chocolate which is for my friends, I swear!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawton oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pablo covered it in2 hrs with such charm and wit. Beware he will quiz you for a quick review. Yum. Learning should be so fun. Plan to do another bowl for 10 Q.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChocoMuseo also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to ChocoMuseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ChocoMuseo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.