We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn to make your own chocolate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ChocoMuseo

ChocoMuseo
4a Calle Oriente #14, Antigua 502, Guatemala
502-7832 4520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 78 things to do in Antigua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cacao and chocolate museum in Antigua, Guatemala. Learn about the history of cacao, the cacao tree and cacao in Guatemala. ChocoMuseo has its own artisanal chocolate factory which makes chocolate from organic Guatemalan cacao beans. ChocoMuseo also offers chocolate workshops to make your own chocolate. A unique experience for the whole family.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Learn to make your own chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We discovered this place by chance and had a chance to design our own hot chocolate beverage. They also have a store that sells delicious localy made organic chocolates. Next visit we want to take the tour they offer to learn how chocolate is grown and processed. It takes two hours and you can learn to produce your own chocolate bar.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    164
    72
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A different way to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We couldnt resist an opportunity to try a chocolate class in a Mayan country - it was a fun and different way of spending an afternoon. The staff were very friendly and the class was very informative. We had great fun grinding the cocoa beans and making different drinks to try.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Informative and fun class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had seen ChocoMuseos in my travels through South America, but finally decided to take a class. Our instructor spoke excellent English and walked us through the museum explaining the process of harvesting cacao beans. I took the truffle making class and we made rich chocolate truffles with all of the ingredients they had. I would definitely recommend the class-- it was fun to do something hands-on. The class is 180Qs and they hold them 3 times a day, so it's easy to drop in.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was a fun and educational class. I actually learned a lot of stuff about choclate. We made our own chocolate and designed it ourself.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Smell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very friendly staff and the smell pulls you in from the street. We saw a chocolate class in action and it looked fun. The chocolate is definitely high quality and was very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChocoMuseo also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to ChocoMuseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ChocoMuseo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.