We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It´s a wonderful place to learn about how chocolate is made” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ChocoMuseo

ChocoMuseo
4a Calle Oriente #14, Antigua 502, Guatemala
502-7832 4520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 attractions in Antigua
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Cacao and chocolate museum in Antigua, Guatemala. Learn about the history of cacao, the cacao tree and cacao in Guatemala. ChocoMuseo has its own artisanal chocolate factory which makes chocolate from organic Guatemalan cacao beans. ChocoMuseo also offers chocolate workshops to make your own chocolate. A unique experience for the whole family.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It´s a wonderful place to learn about how chocolate is made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

the diferent kinds of chocolates and the process to make it is just great to know and to enlarge my local knowledge!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    98
    40
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“chocolate fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We experienced nothing but the best customer service, good food, fun and educational chocolate workshop.

We signed up for 4 pm class, ordered food around 3:30-3:40 at their restaurant.
We were told it will be ready in minutes but it was not, whatever the reason was.
At about 3:55 I asked the waitress to help us figure out what to do. Our workshop was in 5 min, we did not know if food was being done but it was certain we will not eat before 4pm. This is when Carla -the manager stepped in and took care of everything. I was very impressed with her trouble shooting skills, and to our surprise the lunch turned out to be on Choco Museo as an apology for the delay. Nice bonus for sure. We oferred to pay anyways but she insisted we don't. We talked to her a little more later. She is smart and very pleasant to be around.

To make story short, we ate (food and drinks were very good), started workshop 20 min later. We missed the initial presentation by Alex -our chocolate maker, but it was offered to us at the end of the workshop, so it was done in opposite order. I would like to point out that we were asked if this will work, not just told that this is what will happen.

The workshop itself was a lot of fun. 6 people ranging in age 20-60. We all had great time!!!
I highly recommend it to anyone, but I think it is more fun if you are with your family or friends. Everyone is involved, it is very interactive and entertaining. Two thumbs up!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a whistle stop tour & were then encourage to buy products.

It was an ok way to spend 30 mins & the hot chocolate is delicious

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Chocolate Workshop - Loved this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I highly recommend visiting Choco Museo and signing up for a chocolate workshop. It was highly educational, interesting, and a really fun hands on two hour workshop.

Expert chocolate maker Pablo made the workshop. Highly entertaining, warm and very well versed, he made the experience pure pleasure. The owners have a valuable treasure in this animated, incredibly likable host.

Wonderful for all ages, this is an experience not to be missed! Make your own chocolate, learn about it, sample it and take your own home. Excellent all around. Do not miss it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“The Best Chocolate Store in the World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

So, if you like real, pure chocolate, if you are into the mystical and magical mayan authentic appreciation of the cocoa bean then the ChocoMuseo is for you!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChocoMuseo also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to ChocoMuseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ChocoMuseo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added ChocoMuseo to your Saves list