We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's re-opened, moved and better than before!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Opera

Cafe Opera
4 Avenida Sue 01 | #17, Antigua, Guatemala
+502 7832 9133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 239 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's re-opened, moved and better than before!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Café Opera moved beside the Thai place Café Flor. The carpaccio was by far the best we've tried in Antigua (and the ciabatta bread they brought with it was to die for). We each tried a pasta dish which was freshly made in house and very tasty although I would try something different next time. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice menu and qualy food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had lunch here on the weekend and everything was evry good.

I had a nice pasta carbovera and we split a pizza with four cheeses and
and variety of fresh cut vegetables.

The ambiance was very clean and inviting. Service was very good too.

All around a very nice experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomson, Manitoba
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reopened and very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

What was Cafe Opera still is open but under new
management with new menu items and very good service.

The menu now has a spanish flare and everything we tried
was very good. We had paella and fish. Both were very good
and tasty.

Prices are very good too. Worth a visit to this reinvented
favorite from the past.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Closed down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This restaurant closed down a few months ago and there is a new Spanish restaurant in it's place. Never went while it was open, not sure why, it just never "called" to us.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“They're Gone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

They were always too expensive: a nice atmosphere, with posters and occasionally music but it wasn't enough to keep them going.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Opera also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cafe Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.