We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20Q for a HUGE meal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rincon Tipico

Rincon Tipico
4a Calle (#3), Antigua, Guatemala
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 222 restaurants in Antigua
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
El Progreso, Yoro, Honduras
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“20Q for a HUGE meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I've been here almost everyday for lunch. 20Q is less than $3.00 and they give you a huge serving of deliciousness. Everywhere else in town costs 50Q+, maybe 30Q or 40Q in some places, but they never fill me up. The place is always packed.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    28
    14
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Do NOT MISS! Backyard BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is hands down the best lunch spot in town. We have been three days in the last five. Costs 20Q per person, which you cannot find anywhere in town for the quantity and quality. How to order: you walk in past the tortilla making grill, check out the grill (chicken, pork, chorizo, longanisas, similar to sausage an delicious). Check out the sides rice (always), potato salad, mixed green, pasta salad, broccoli. They also have soups that I'm told are good. Walk past their operation and find a seat. They will bring you a fresh cup of lemonade/limeade/cranberry tasting juice. You tell them what meat and sides you want. You pick three. I had Pork(cerdo), mixed greens(ranch/dill dressing) and potato salad. AND you get two fresh thick tortillas if you need more. I'm 6'7 and am stuffed every time we eat there. Once you are done, get up and hand your money to the nice lady working the grill. The 10% tip is not included to leave something at the table if you wish. My wife is vegetarian and loves the place as well. It's as close as you can get to a back yard BBQ and for only 20Q or about $2.50. We haven't tried their 15Q breakfast, but I'm sure it's good as well. The place fills up at 1, so try to come earlier if you want it more tranquillo.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Rincon Tipico is a typical Comedor of which there are many
throughout Antigua.

The ambiance is like sitting in a garage. Open patio with umbrellas.

Their specialty is Menu del Dia which gives you a limited choice of
menu items on a daily basis.

Portions are small but include rice, salad and a drink for a typical
Comedor price.

After we ate our meal which was based upon a carne we headed back
to our house where we both ran to the bathroom sick as sick can be.

Yes, it was cheap but it all ended up in the toilet.

Be wary of street food and Comedors while in Antigua.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in all of Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stopped in here because of the incredible smell enticing us from the street. We walked past all the fresh, local food being prepared right before our eyes. Had 3 options, I don't think we could have gone wrong with any one of them. And I don't think I could have made a better meal for that price. It was, by far the best meal we eat in Antigua, maybe in all of Guatemala.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I would eat here every day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Even if you don't like grilled meats, you should come here. Give them a chance to convert you.

This place is really good and affordable. You can smell it down the street as you walk up with the fan blowing grilled meat smoke in your face out in front.

Should def. not be missed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rincon Tipico also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Rincon Tipico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rincon Tipico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.