We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Escobar Restaurant

Casa Escobar Restaurant
6 Av Norte 2, Antigua, Guatemala
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 239 Restaurants in Antigua
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inconsistent food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Ate total of 3 times, each time ordering the 7 oz beef tenderloin. The first two times the beef was excellent, but on the third the beef was rubbery and tough. I sent it back as was told that the reason it was tough was that I ordered the 7 oz steak, the manager said i should have ordered the larger steak. he then said the sirloin steak which was cheaper was more tender than the beef tenderloin. They swapped out the steak and what I received was a stringy tough sirloin steak. Overall inconsistent,
I will not be back, it's a pity, if they just be more concerned about quality they would have more business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inconsistent food quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I went to this restaurant on 3 separate occasions over a 2 week period, the first two times I ordered the beef tenderloin, it was so tender it was unbelievable. On my 3 rd visit I ordered it as well and was disappointed, the beef was rubbery and tough, I sent it back and was told the problem was because I ordered the 7 oz piece rather than the larger size, when in fact what they brought me was not beef tenderloin but a strip steak of poor quality. They then proceeded to explain to me that the sirloin steak was a better quality . Anyway they swapped out the rubbery beef tenderloin with an even worsens stringy sirloin steak that looked like skirt steak which was just as bad as the other piece of meat. Inconsistent. I would not go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best meat in Antigua”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are craving for that juicy and tasty, generous piece of meat, just go to Casa Escobar, a block away from the Central Plaza. The restaurant is elegant inside and the service quite good. I had the puyaso, similar to a sirloin and it was really good. I understand that they age and manage their meat very well and thus the good taste.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I spent a little over a year in Central America and this was by far the best steak. In response to some of the negative reviews about the service; The service in Central America is slow and inattentive everywhere (by United States standards).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a great romantic place to have a nice steak dinner and a bottle of wine. The meat is top quality and prepared to perfection. The service is top notch and the atmosphere is lovely. When I am in Antigua or Guatemala City Casa Escobar is my favorite place for steak. The filet mignon sauce is to die for. Que rico!!!!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Escobar Restaurant also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Casa Escobar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Escobar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.