We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently the BEST in Antigua, Guatemala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cazador Italiano

El Cazador Italiano
3a. Avenida Norte No. 1B, Antigua, Guatemala
7832.2955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 222 restaurants in Antigua
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Antigua, Guatemala
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Consistently the BEST in Antigua, Guatemala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have been customers and huge fans of this restaurant since it opened. It is our number one restaurant to bring friends and family for a great meal. Chef Luciano is very creative and the menu offers a large variety of great food and specials. They have the best pizza in town and the service is always attentive and you are made to feel like family.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    42
    20
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food in Guatemala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A true Italian chef, Luciano can be heard singing in the kitchen, in native tongue. He continues to turn out creations to peak your taste buds. We have been regular customers for three years and cannot suggest a better restaurant here or in the United States. Prices are competitive with other first rate places. So if your on the cheap eat Luciano's pizza, it is wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great pizza And more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is definitely one of the best (Italian restaurants) in Antigua. It is a bit hidden behind the cathedral but absolutely worth the search. We had the tomatoes and mozzarella which was superb followed by a pizza. All very good in a nice atmosphere.
They could do with another washroom.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga tn
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I keep going back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

and I'm never disappointed at El Cazador. The space is not large, and the upstairs is divided into two rooms so it is a little cozier than some other dining options in Antigua. The night I had dinner there the crowd was mostly young Guatemalan couples sharing the thin crust pizzas. The rest of the menu is entirely Italian fare, pastas, gnocchi, and, I think, risotto.
I had sweet potato gnocchi served with lamb sauce studded with chevre. As one reviewer previously noted, the gnocchi has a very soft consistency. I liked it; she didn't. The portion was sufficient, the sauce richly flavored, but, carnivores beware, there was not a lot of lamb in the dish. The lack of lamb was more than made up for by the generous scoops of Chevre. To obtain a textural contrast I tried a side of sauteed green beans. They were sublime--sweet and crispy tender. I wished I had grown them in my own garden.
Seems to be GLBT friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Try the gnocchi!!! Super salads, perfect pizza, good service, really nice ambiance. Every time we're in Antigua we go to eat here - and we're a family of VERY picky eaters!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cazador Italiano also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to El Cazador Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cazador Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.