We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected coffee mecca place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tretto Caffe

Tretto Caffe
1ave. Sur # 4, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
4828-0692
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 228 restaurants in Antigua
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dessert
france
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected coffee mecca place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I went to Tretto cause I heard other traveller mentioning the coffe there was good. Being a coffee addict myself, I went there to check it out. I was expecting a normal coffee shop, as you can find in any touristy town, but I found much more than that. First of all it is small, extremely small and the good review it gets is certainly not for the fancy setting it has, simply because the permises are not fancy.
If Tretto has such good review, it because it offers somethig else: it is a coffee place, where you don't come here because its fancy, nor because it is the fastest wifi in town, but simply because they are real coffee lovers, and coffee connoisseurs. This is what makes this place so special, cause the guys behind the counter actually knows perfectly what they are talking about, and they are fanatic about it.
If you like coffee or are curious to discover more about it, you have to go there, you won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    66
    6
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Expresso ( by a country mile)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Have been popping into this super cafe for the last few weeks and thanks to the host with the mostess ' frosty ' have learned so much about coffee and tasted the most amazing expressos on my travels : a pleasure to go there and be made to feel so welcome by all involved. Respect Lads

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
“Iced Mocha and Salted Caramel Brownie!!,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

All the Trip Advisor "hype" was well-founded! Our group of seven Americans and one native Guatemalan were thrilled with our Tretto Caffe experience. Don't miss it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee Guatemala has to offer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I personally know Frosty and many other baristas around Guate, most of them positioned in the top 6 best (including the world's best barista 2012). I must say Frosty's coffee is among probably the best coffee guatemala has to offer, competing against Teco (Injerto Café). I've been influenced by Frosty's coffee, not only in desiring a cup of coffee every day, but to include him in one of my books (Despondency) which takes place in Antigua. I recommend this coffee place above all and, if you can, cask Frosty to prepare you one of his renown coffee espresso shots with Special Honey (bees that make honey only out of citrus flowers).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Visit Tretto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I visited a friend that lives in Antigua. We went to visit Frostys cafe frequently. Nice guy, good place to have a drink and hang out. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tretto Caffe also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Tretto Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tretto Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.