We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, Cold Burgers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lava Terrace Bar & Burgers

Lava Terrace Bar & Burgers
4a Avenida Norte No. 3, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 262 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed, Cold Burgers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went there on the night of 18th of September, it was our last night in Antigua. We sat downstairs for a quiet dinner. It was really quiet not to crowded. We gave the order and after 2 minutes we head outside for a smoke. Before we finished our cigarettes our burgers came and we throw our cigarettes and head back to table. The burgers the fries the onion rings everything was cold. Not freezing cold but it was obvious that they are not freshly cooked. I told the waitress that all of them are cold she told me that it is because we were smoking thats why they got cold. It was less that 2 minutes between the time of the burgers came and we start to eat. When I insisted she said ok and took back the burgers came back after 3-4 minutes warmer but not the kind that you would like to have your burger. The cheeses on top are nearly dried. I was very positive after the reviews I read that I was going to eat a good burger but a BIG disappointment for me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocelotjazz, Owner at Lava Terrace Bar & Burgers, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Hi. We have 15 different kind of burgers and each one takes around 8 minutes to cook and prepare. You went to smoke cigarettes outside and that's where it went wrong. No way could we prepare a burger in 2 minutes!!!! Its just not possible. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place to chill on the patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

A big draw to Lava for me was the rooftop patio and big screen TV's. They also have great burgers and the best wings in town, hands down. Nice place to relax and watch sports, with good drink specials. In my opinion 40 - 50Q for a huge, quality burger (under $7) is Not expensive, lol.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great price for a big burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We came here by recommendation from our tour guide Eliseo! The burgers are huge and my husband and I could have easily shared! I also ordered onion rings and I haven't tried such good ones in years! Great ambiance on a rooftop! There was also a guitar player/singer that night who hit great tunes both in English (Zepplin, Beatles, etc.) and in Spanish (SilvioRodríguez, Mercedes Sosa, Facundo C.) which just completed a really nice night out in Antigua!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Sacatepequez, Guatemala
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Lava has the best burgers in Antigua by a country mile. Sure they may seem a bit pricey at first sight(they range from 40-65Q) but trust me they are worth every quetzal- you can go elsewhere for a cheaper burger but I can guarantee you'll wish you came here instead. Each burger comes with a generous helping of thick-cut fries or onion rings and a very generous side salad of rocket, fresh tomato and pickles. Not to mention the burgers themselves which are huge and come with generous toppings. You can tell from the first bite that they are made of 100% lean beef and are very juicy and done to your liking. The menu has a decent choice although not a massive variety of foods but, as the old saying goes, you should stick to what you are good at and Lava makes an excellent burger. You can find more variety in Ocelot downstairs which is owned by the same man (very nice man if you bump into him in one of his bars, he is the Welsh guy, Shaun).

In addition to the burgers Lava is also a very pretty outdoor terrace with views of the volcano and surrounding mountains. It has a great happy hour between 5-6pm every day with drinks from as little as 5Q and 10Q beers. There is also Sunday cerviche with 5Q sangria (and good sangria at that!). You can enjoy happy hour up here, have a great burger, watch the sun set then hop down to Ocelot for some live jazz most nights.

In short, come here! Don't worry over a few quetzales and enjoy one of the best burgers and happy hours you'll get anywhere!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not so hot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Service lacks, burgers are over priced and not what you order... Would not go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocelotjazz, Owner at Lava Terrace Bar & Burgers, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi
I believe you had the wrong burger which cannot be excused. Will try to iron that problem out. The service we've worked on and on and will continue to do so. What i find hard to believe, is that anyone would complain about the price!!! $5.50 for an 8 oz Burger with a large quantity of homemade fries or homemade onion rings and salad. The bun is also made the most famous bakery in Antigua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Terrace Bar & Burgers also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Lava Terrace Bar & Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava Terrace Bar & Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.