We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At The Terrace Hostel, they always make you feel like home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Terrace Hostel to your Saves list
The Terrace Hostel
24-B 3rd Street West, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
1 review
“At The Terrace Hostel, they always make you feel like home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Terrace Hostel is a great place to rest and have fun. The people are friendly and they always take care of you. They have an amazing view on the roof. The best place to enjoy a beer, especially after a game of ultimate frisbee. It is the best place to enjoy the magic of the town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJColina, Manager at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We hope you keep returning to our hostel and bar after your frisbee! That sounds like fun too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    36
    29
    10
    13
See reviews for
2
32
71
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Terrace is an awesome hostel full of awesome people. The staff were especially awesome. Charlie, the bartender with the super cute hat, is a master at making rum and cokes. Can't wait to get back to Antigua!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJColina, Manager at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad Charlie served you some great drinks and hope to see you back here soon!
Safe Travels
The Terrace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

All the employees really seemed to care about what they were doing. The owners were awesome as well. I've stayed at hundreds of hostels and next time i am in Antigua i will definitely stay here again.
The view from the Bar on the Roof is awesome and a great place to enjoy a few drinks and party. With that being said it is also was quite enough to rest without a problem.

Location is great too. It is with in two blocks of the market and the Parque Central.

It was very safe with a guard there at night who would let people into the hostel at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJColina, Manager at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for this fantastic review. We are glad to hear you had a great time and thought a lot of our team.

We hope you come back soon, enjoy the rest of your travels!

The Terrace Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Terrace became a little like a home away from home. I was recommend this hostel by other travellers so we booked in for 3 nights while in Antigua. Welcome drink and the view of the Volcan de Agua being just a couple of the highlights. Free brekky! Pub crawl Mondays! It's a very sociable hostel and one of the cheaper options. What made this hostel a favourite was the staff! On our first night we wanted to check out a bar but we weren't sure where it was so one of the guys (Charlie) showed us the way and stayed for some drinks, he knows where all the good bars are and will go out of his way to help you! All of the staff were great! We ended up becoming good friends with them all! We even stopped back into Antigua on 2 more occasions and chose to stay at The Terrace. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJColina, Manager at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for the great review.
We are really glad you chose to stay with us and returned more than once.
Thank you for commenting on our fantastic team, Charlie will be very happy to read this review!

Enjoy your travels and come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stopped at The Terrace for one night before I headed out to El Tunco. I got to the hostel in the afternoon and was able to book my shuttle and just chill before my long drive the next day. Booking the shuttle was easy with the help of the girl at the front desk. Everyone who worked there that day was awesome. I got to know the owners and just loved them. They even hugged me when I left. Super sweet. I meet Mike first he was a darling and him with everyone else working made me feel really welcome. I relaxed and used the wifi in the front room. It is located it a great part of Antigua. I also ate a yummy hamburger. It hit the spot. I had a fun stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJColina, Manager at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for the great review Mel.
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and felt part of the family. If youre ever in Antigua again, please come back and say hi or stay, we'd love to have you here again

Safe travels
The Terrace Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Firstly, the view from the rooftop bar was amazing. The owners really care about this place and it shows. Second, if you want a place to enjoy yourself and meet people on your journey this is the place to stay. If you want a quieter room ask for the first floor. It can get loud with the bar so bring earplugs if you are like me, I take some on my trips.

Second, the showers I noticed in Guatemala are tricky and its advised you do not touch the shower head, logics people...the water heater is on the head of the shower. I preferred staying on the second floor since the bathroom on that floor was nicer in my opinion.

Third, for the price and breakfast and one free drink, I haven't seen that before at the hostels I have been at except for one in London.

Great trip, great owners, fun party time at the Terrace.

Room Tip: First floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJColina, Manager at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for posting a review in relation to your experience with us. We are glad you loved the bar, we do take care of the hostel as best we can and we love receiving feedback as such.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had been recommended this hostel because of its terrace (bar/restaurant) which really is great - an amazing view of the volcano and nice and sunny. The private room we were in was tiny! But nice to have a bathroom v near the room.
What let down the hostel for us was the kitchen on the terrace playing loud music from 7.30am. The private rooms are just beneath it so we all woke up straight away. It was a shame because the night before we had come back from a meal at around ten thirty to find the bar/terrace empty and closed! We would have much preferred the music then.
The staff were friendly and it's a good location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJColina, Manager at The Terrace Hostel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for your review.

We are glad you liked our terrace, the view is hard to beat! And very glad to hear our staff made you feel welcome.

To update you on your complaint about the music in the mornings, since receiving this review, we have moved the radio, so it no longer faces down the stairs, and the kitchen staff are now playing at a lower volume from 8am when they start. Therefore, it is no longer heard in the private rooms below. I feel this complaint had a simple solution, which, had we have realised when you were here with us, we could have resolved the issue immediately and made your stay more comfortable.

Thank you for staying with us, and we wish you the best of luck in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Terrace Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Hostel

Address: 24-B 3rd Street West, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking to have a good time and meet new friends, look no further than The Terrace Hostel! We promise guests clean rooms, spectacular views of the city and volcanoes, free WI-FI, guest lounge with TV & DVD collection, and the best and cheapest bar in Antigua! We offer a big variety of Breakfast with Smoothies, Coffee or Micheladas. We also advise and organize daily tours in and around Antigua, and offer helpful and friendly advice for further travel in Central America. Our rooftop terrace is home to our Terrace Bar & Grill.. Our bar features the cheapest and longest happy hour in town, the best grilled burgers as well Quesadillas and our new Thai Chicken Wrap, Pub Crawls, and Themed Parties! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Terrace Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.