We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Bella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Bella to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Bella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2da. avenida Sur No. 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Decatur, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location -- interesting room designs, a desk clerk in the afternoon and evenings who is extremely gracious, helpful and kind -- she made our stay much more pleasurable. Breakfast was excellent and provided a good opportunity to meet other guests. On the other side of the ledger, water leaking into the room during a fierce evening thunderstorm our first night and bathrooms not as clean as they ought to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments Richard. We always like to hear the good, the bad and even...the ugly. A more rigid bathroom cleaning process has been given to staff and is checked regularly by the Rooms Manger. That fierce thunderstorm enabled us to find problems which we normally wouldn't have, fixed and no longer an issue. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We first visited the hotel in 2011. It was a beautiful visit, but unfortunately there was a big water problem in all Antigua. We had booked one of the jacuzzi suites (which are gorgeous), but without water we had a bit of misfortune of course ....
Chris, the owner, offered us a nice deal to revisit the hotel. We went back this spring for Semana Santa and this visit was excellent !!!
Rooms are decorated with taste, breakfast is wonderful, jacuzzi's are so relaxing after a touristic day in Antigua. The biggest asset of this hotel however (and all 6 of us agree on this) is the magnificent staff : Angelica, who manages the hotel, goes OUT OF HER WAY to help you with just about anything. She is amazing ... !!!!

We will for sure visit again !!!
Thanks Chris and Angelica for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Bert, as always, it was nice to have you come and visit us again. Again. thank you for being so understanding and Angelica was ecstatic to see your review. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

this is a great hotel with an amazing location. The owner Is a cool American that will attend your needs!! the rooms are very elegant, really clean and beds are very comfortable.

The breakfast is great, try the Huevos chapines!

If you can book the suite it has a great Jacuzzi and its not that expensive, you are getting rooms that are 5 stars for the price of 3

so dont even think about looking at another hotel and stay in CASA BELLA

cheers!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review, these are the types of reviews that make us work so hard for the Guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked three nights and paid in full in advance. Management doublebooked our room and so we were paraded over to a new property that was being renovated on the outskirts of town. It was not the "five star hotel" that we were led to believe that we were being taken to. Long story short, we agreed to take a smaller less expensive room in exchange for a credit.
Upon arriving back home, we learned that hotel management has reversed the credit (they were the ones who suggested a credit was a fair way to resolve our inconvenience and less expensive room stay). Every excuse in the book is now being thrown at us, free parking is no longer free, we offered you superior accommodations blah,blah, blah.
If you want to stay with people who care more about your money than you, stay at Casa Bella. I would prefer to stay a hotel that delivers good customer service. NOT HERE!!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms dont have windows or ventilation and are stuffy. Get up early because a late show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for the inconvenience that you might have experienced. Customer service is very important to us and so are our clients. We are not a huge hotel but did try to accommodate this family in all we could but unfortunately they could not be pleased. To quickly address some of the complaints: Casa Bella does not have free parking because we do not have a parking lot! We have access to a private lot a couple blocks from the hotel but it is at an additional fee. This family was given the option of an upgraded room at another hotel but declined. There was no parading of anyone going on except for the religious floats that fill the streets and that everyone comes to see. We were quite shocked to see such poor remarks and rating, it does not truly reflect the customer service that you will experience with us. We hope our readers and future guests give no heed to reviews like this from people who only want refunds for no valid reason!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Casa Bella was the perfect place for us being novices to Guatemala.
The hotel and staff is faultless and more than happy to walk the extra mile for it's guest. We felt so welcome and looked after that after two days staying here we would call it home.
If this is your first time to Guatemala, Antigua, you don't speak spanish and are perhaps a little apprehensive about safety and all the myth about Guatemala this is the place to stay...
Casa Bella made us fall in love with the Guatemalan people and culture- we loved it and wish we could have taken it with us for the remainder of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. it makes us very proud and were happy to help out in any way we could. We hope that you return to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We loved this hotel when we stayed there.

It is close to the main areas and furnished really nicely. The staff were friendly and you felt welcome straight away.

The room was large and well appointed and the beds were really comfortable.

Our safe didn't work and Angelica promptly replaced it with another for us which was easy as they are not bolted down. (It is a bit scary to think that someone could just walk out with all your valuables!)

We left our luggage in the "secure luggage storage" which was listed as available on the page we booked through. When we returned to our bags they had been gone through which was obvious as soon as we tried to open them. We were rushing for a bus so we didn't have time to fully inspect our bags to see what was missing or make a scene until we knew what had been taken. We had several items stolen while our bags were in the "secure" luggage storage. When we spoke to the owner he said that our bags were moved to an area outside of the camera view at one stage and has since stopped responding to my emails.

The door is locked at most times and the owner said the only people in there were staff.

It is a beautiful hotel, but be careful with your possessions, and do NOT leave your luggage in the "secure" storage - which we were informed in emails afterwards that they don't really cater for anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Emily, unfortunatley, I navigated away from the page and my response was deleted! This response will be much shorter.

Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel but we do not appreciate someone making false accusations and evidence lacking judgements about the hotel. I would first like to point out that this couple simply left their backpacking bags outside of their room while they were rushing out in the early morning to catch a shuttle, they never inquired about secure baggage storage nor asked for a ticket or even if there was a fee.

I personally reviewed the cameras for 3 hours spanning over 10 hours of video after this guest's false accusations. She first stated that there was money missing that has to be missing because she always hides it in the same spot during all her travels and that it's the same back pack, so someone must have stole it. She then wrote back in a email that she had indeed found the money but couldn't initially because someone had rummaged through it, strange. So this money that had been mysteriously moved from one secure, hidden place to another had been found but she was missing something else but she just wasn't sure what it was yet. FAST FORWARD to a few days ago about a month after their check out, she informed me that it was her travel speakers that were missing. So instead of the money that was hidden in a secure place that had been moved, my staff decided to steal her travel speakers, again strange.

The safes in the rooms are not bolted down, but they are about 25 lbs, big steel square shaped things that you can't really smuggle out under your arm through 24 hour security, reception, cameras and a security door that you must be buzzed in and out of. So, in reply to someone running off with your valuables, doubtful at best. When the guests are not in their rooms, the doors are locked. the manager or I are the only ones who have access to the keys.

I would just like everyone to know that theft does not occur at Casa Bella Boutique, we pride ourselves on customer service and would not jeopardize this for anything. Please do not let your decision to stay with us be influenced by a wildly false accusation such as this one. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My sisters and I planned our trip 2 weeks prior to arriving in Antigua. I searched for hotels that can accommodate 3 persons in a room through Tripadvisor and most highly recommended ones were already fully booked. Location was important and we picked Casa Bella, being 2 blocks away from the Main Plaza.

We arrived late from Panajachel and we were quickly welcomed by Alvaro and Angelica, the receptionist. Immediately, we felt at home. The reception desk was fronting a small open courtyard with chairs and tables. It had a nice resort feeling to it. Our room was the Don Rene, and it had 2 king-sized beds that can accommodate 4. It had a sitting area with a small couch, coffee table and a chair that was adjacent to a wall with ample shelvings for our stuff. We were 3 ladies sharing a room and we had more than enough space for our toiletries, snacks, travel flyers, etc. The bathroom was fairly large, well stocked with bottled waters and toiletries. Water pressure was strong, lots of hot/warm water. However, the bathroom can use some more hanging hooks for towels.

Next to the bedroom door is a closet, lots of hangers and shelves so we basically unpacked most of our clothes and had enough room. It was also nice to have a safe in the room,too. One sister commented it would be nice to have a mirror in the bedroom too so we don't have to crowd in the bathroom to get ready.

Important to mention was the wifi - very strong and we were so happy to keep our family and friends updated with photo updates and FaceTime calls.

We stayed there for 4 nights. Every morning we were served a delicious breakfast by Luis. It included eggs, fresh fruit, toast with butter and jam, fruit juice, tastiest frijoles (sautéed beans)we had in Guatemala and the most delicious Guatemalan coffee. Luis proudly shared some recipes - the frijoles and the side tomato sauce that goes with the eggs. Don't remember complimenting the cook for preparing us the delicious breakfast so better late than never- Thank you from us!

At the end of the day, we were promptly let in after we rung the bell and like family, the staff will inquire about our day. At night Luis is the bartender and he serves a superb Caipirinha. Try this drink if you haven't yet and you'll never order a margarita again.

We met the owner and he was so friendly and accommodating. It was nice to know about how he eventually ended up in Guatemala after originally being based in Canada and years of travels in Asia. We only have great comments about the staff and the owner. The hotel feels like it is run by a family and they made you feel like you're part of their family too.

We especially grew fond of Luis. He is one of the loveliest people we've met in Guatemala. Seeing him daily and enjoying conversations made us see him like an older brother. Bidding goodbye literally brought us to tears.

This early, I'm already planning to return to Guatemala in 2014 with my husband and we'll definitely stay in Casa Bella. Hasta la vista amigos!

Maria y las 2 hermanas

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks about the hotel, the staff was elated when I showed them your review. You and your sisters were the ideal guests and look forward to your visit again this year. It was a pleasure to have met you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Bella

Address: 2da. avenida Sur No. 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Bella is beautifully designed boutique hotel located in the center of Antigua. Each of our 8 rooms are complete with high-speed WiFi, telephones, flat screen TVs with cable, pillow top mattresses, rainforest shower heads and suites with jacuzzi. Breakfast is included as well as a smile upon arrival. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us and look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Bella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.