We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for an excellent hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Esthela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Esthela to your Saves list
Villa Esthela
2a Avenida Sur #48 - Interior A-3, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great deal for an excellent hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at Villa Esthela for 4 nights with my partner. We had a private double room that worked perfectly for us. There was a locked armoire for clothes, etc, a writing desk, 2 beds!, and the hostel offered a selection of books to read on downtime, a rooftop terrace with hammocks, free water and use of the kitchen/fridge. It's just far enough away from central park to not be noisey, but still just a 5 minute walk. It was a great place to stay in a new city!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
23
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

At least for a solo traveller who wants a private room, this place is fantastic value. And the rooms are well equipped as well - I stayed in different rooms over a few stays, and always had drawers, a desk and a lockable cupboard. The showers genuinely have hot water (unlike the tepid dribbles that often come out in other hostels in Antigua) and the kitchen is fully equipped so that it is actually usable and with plenty of space to store food. Free tea, coffee and drinking water is an added bonus. Wifi that actually works throughout the hostel and not just in reception is also a nice benefit.
There is a lounge as well, although I didn't use it, and the roof terrace has great views of the volcanoes. It's a few blocks away from the centre so it's much quieter than most places, but it's still only 5 minutes walk from Parque Central.
Finally, the hostel can arrange a variety of shuttles and tours - and these are all very well priced. Many travel agents in Antigua will always try to add on a few dollars and it can get wearing having to negotiate to get the actual price every time - at the hostel you can be guaranteed to get the best price in town without any hassle.
I can't recommend this place highly enough - I've stayed in a number of hostels here, but I wouldn't go to any other one now.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Villa Esthela is a quaint hostel with an amazing rooftop terrace, probably the feature of the hostel. Our private room was comfortable with a shared bathroom next door. Rooms were clean and warm. 5 minute walk to the centre. It is great value for Antigua, staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at the guest house of the Villa Esthela hostel. It was a little copy of Antigua - peaceful, cute and has all one needs. The kitchen is well equipped, the inner yard is great. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable, air is a bit moldy.
The owners are really great, very helpful - before and during the stay. Had some good recommendations for eating and organized tours and transport that were all good.
The guesthouse is a bit of a walk from the center, but a great walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed in Villa Estehla from 17 to 20th October and was really pleased with this small hostel. Though inexpensive it has a nice atmosphere and a fantastic terasse with a view to the volcanos surrounding Antigua. The rooms and the kitchen are clean, and Daniella - the owner - is very helpful and gives you all the information you need.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Villa Esthela is such a fantastic place to stay that we went back 3 times while we were in the area and it began to feel like home! It is run by someone who knows exactly what travellers want from a hostel. It was comfortable, friendly, affordable with very good facilities (the kitchen is well equipped for cooking almost anything - easily the best we've seen). Little touches like free tea and coffee, DVDs to watch in the living room and having things like a bedside lamp and mirror in the rooms were really welcome. Also, they can organise day trips or onwards transport- this service was good, convenient & a fair price. Our time in Antigua was great and this place was a big part of it - definitely recommended! (Just don't expect a lie-in on Sundays though- there is an evangelical church next door and they like to sing, a LOT!!)

Room Tip: We had room 8 (upstairs) most of the time and preferred this to the room we tried downstairs - its m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place is great with all the amenities the budget traveler needs! They have water, tea and coffee available at all times; a well stocked kitchen for your use; a lovely roof top deck with stunning views and a bar. Plus, the staff, especially the manager Juan, are wonderful, helpful and friendly. The hostel also helps you with travel arrangements and tours if you need it. I highly recommend a stay here when in Antigua.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor has better internet connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Esthela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Esthela

Address: 2a Avenida Sur #48 - Interior A-3, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer both private rooms (singles, doubles, triples) as well as a shared room 'dorm' with 8 beds. All rooms are with shared bathroom. We aim to offer low-priced accommodation for the budget conscience traveler. This means we do not offer any luxuries but always try to have friendly staff, give the best possible service and a clean place to stay. We do have a big rooftop terrace with amazing views of Antigua. And additionally free wifi, reasonably warm showers, free coffee/tea, TV room with DVDs and a kitchen you can use to make your own meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Villa Esthela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Esthela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.