We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it just for the rooftop overlooking Antigua!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Esthela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Esthela to your Saves list
Villa Esthela
2a Avenida Sur #48 - Interior A-3, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth it just for the rooftop overlooking Antigua!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Nice, convenient location a few minutes away from the central plaza, excellent staff, at a super low nightly rate. There's a nice rooftop where you can chill and have a drink  in the early evenings, which is a great place to take in the view of the volcanoes while meeting other travelers. I don't know if i just got lucky during my three night stay, but there was a real cool mix of folks from all over the world, and all walks of life.The rooms could use a bit of an update, and the bathrooms are shared, but at these prices, you just can't beat it. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
23
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I don't need a party hostel, but this one was a little too quiet for me. I may have just been unlucky though as there is a rooftop bar, so it had potential. It was never open when I was here. The guesthouse has everything you need, kitchen, tv lounge area, rooftop with gorgeous views, hot water private showers! There were a lot of older travelling couples during my stay. There is a bakery nearby that is always packed. It's so good and cheap! The reason I wouldn't stay here again is the location. It's kind of far away from the action, not too far away, but enough that it got annoying and we wished we had a more central one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here a few times during my 6 weeks in Guatemala and was overall teally happy with everything! My airport pick up and drop off were on time with Juan who can speak some english! Danielle the owner/manager is awesome - really friendly, helpful and accommodating! The hostel is not a party hostel - its quiet but still a grat place to meet people as its small with several social airlines. It has a rooftop bar which is sometimes open which is fun! The kitchen is well stiocked and it has cable in the lounge.
My only issue was the place was very 'echoy' but is was aleay really quet after 9pm!
Would definitely recommend it - and you must try the backery near by - best in central america (ask Danielle or another guest and they will know what Im talking about!)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night but it was great. The woman was very friendly and we had two double beds in our private room. It was quiet, wifi was great, and we felt very safe. Left very early so hard to give an accurate description, but would definitely return. Very economical. (Slightly far from good restaurants is the only caveat).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is great. Situated toward the south end of Antigua near a tienda, pharmacy, taqueria, and delicious bakery. Antigua is totally accessible on foot so there really isn't a bad area to stay. We felt safe and comfortable leaving/returning after dark. The staff (Danielle and Juan) are wonderful people. They will help you arrange tours, shuttles, taxis, or just answer questions. The rooms were basic but perfectly comfortable- everything one needs aside from air conditioning. Fans would be a nice addition to the rooms. You can't beat the view from the rooftop terrace- a perfect place to read, relax, or spend an evening in with a few drinks meeting fellow travelers and making friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Enjoyed my stay, and came back for more. great dorm, wonderful rooftop bar. a bit far from city center but quiet and hospitable. There's a clean kitchen although I havent used it. very nice owner, help me a lot.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

It was my first stop in Guatamala and made for a great first impression. I was traveling alone and the owner was really helpful and accommodating. My room was cozy, everything was clean and there was a communal kitchen for everyone to use. The views are also quite impressive, on my first night there I could see a nearby volcano erupting in the distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Esthela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Esthela

Address: 2a Avenida Sur #48 - Interior A-3, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer both private rooms (singles, doubles, triples) as well as a shared room 'dorm' with 8 beds. All rooms are with shared bathroom. We aim to offer low-priced accommodation for the budget conscience traveler. This means we do not offer any luxuries but always try to have friendly staff, give the best possible service and a clean place to stay. We do have a big rooftop terrace with amazing views of Antigua. And additionally free wifi, reasonably warm showers, free coffee/tea, TV room with DVDs and a kitchen you can use to make your own meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Villa Esthela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Esthela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.