We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holistico Hostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holistico Hostal to your Saves list
Holistico Hostal
7 Avenida Sur Numero 10, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hostel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I traveled to Antigua by myself and stayed at Holistico in May for 5 days, I booked a private room. The Hostel is very clean, it's centrally located, the complementary breakfast options are delicious and everything is homemade. The staff is really attentive and they provide a great customer service. I wouldn't doubt to stay here again if I visit Antigua again.

Room Tip: I advice staying in a private room, they are spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holistico, Owner at Holistico Hostal, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your amazing time to write this review, we do the best every single day here and make happy all the guest. I saw that you really had a good time here. Thanks !!!! sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    37
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
3
47
116
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I really enjoyed my time at Holistico. The place is new and very clean. The staff were helpful and very nice and friendly. The price is fair enought because the breakfast is included - you can choose from 6 different breakfasts and coffee, water, juice and tea with small snacks during all day. The hostel has a beautiful terace with the magnific view. Any time I will come back to Antigua, I will stay at this place! And plus there is very well equiped kitchen that you can use during all day. In the dorms were only 4 people so it was quit quite and comfortable. So do not hesitate, this is the best option in town. The price for bed in the dorm was 80 q or 10 USD I guess. It is worthed!

Room Tip: All room are good but try to choose that one which is closed to the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holistico, Owner at Holistico Hostal, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest, all you wrote in this review is totally true and I hope that others travelers will come and stay with us and enjoy the amazing services that you describe here. Thanks for take your time and give to as the chance to show you that we do the best. Regards Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my time at Holistico. The staff were welcoming, extremely friendly and very helpful when booking tours/shuttle buses. My friends and I booked our pacaya volcano tour through the hostel and we had a really good guide.

They offer delicious free breakfast (try the pesto egg sandwich) and free snacks, tea, coffee and juice daily which is excellent. You also have access to their kitchen.

The 6 bed dorm my friends and I shared was basic and relatively small; my bed was a little squeeky but otherwise fine. The rooms don't lock but you can keep all your valuables in a locker near reception. The hostel is also locked by a gate at all times so you feel very secure.

They offer cheap laundry services (10q per kilo) and you can hire a towel for 10q. The showers were hot and had good water pressure. There's wifi in the main reception area. We enjoyed a few drinks on the relaxing terrace. The hostel is pretty quiet during the day and there's no bar but you can buy beers - they have 2 for 10q during happy hour. You can also drink your own drinks in there. Outsiders are not allowed into the hostel so if you have friends staying elsewhere they won't be allowed in.

Overall, the hostel was very relaxing, clean and secure with helpful, friendly staff. If you want to party you can walk down the road to bars and other party hostels. Antigua is very small so you can easily walk around the town and go to restaurants and supermarkets from the hostel.

I'd definitely recommend you stay here! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

the place is always so clean: the floor, the bathroom, the kitchen... it was great!
its cheap plus breakfast!
the only "bad" thing is that you cant bring visitors at all. its locked all day so it makes you feel secure:)

good wifi and great location!! reccomended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Such a great place, we stayed longer than planned. The owner, Sergio, and all the staff, were extremely accommodating with all of our requests. Kitchen available for use, Hot showers, free breakfast (one of the best I've had in a hostel), snacks laid out all day to pick from, free water and coffee. Sergio puts out a bottle of rum every afternoon for everyone to share. He is also very helpful with planning all your excursions and actually had the best prices too! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holistico, Owner at Holistico Hostal, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your review and I saw that you enjoyed Holistico. Here our goal is all the time to give our best and as you know and also as you wrote here, we try that everyone have a good fun in Antigua like you had In your own experience. Thanks again , Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Holistico is like no hostel you have ever seen before. The service is exceptional. Sergio (the owner) is a great guy. When we were there he had organized a BBQ and even the drinks were for free! He also had this big cake for dessert. When your drink was empty he made sure you got a new one within a minute. The room was nice and clean. Shower and toilet were clean as well. The included breakfast is great. You can choose from 4 or 5 different things and everything is made fresh. The cookies are so good! The location is perfect, everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holistico, Owner at Holistico Hostal, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for all that you wrote here in these forum and I hope that others traveler can see how is our service at Holistico Hostal where the peole have fun. Thank you !!!! Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed in Hostal Holistico for 4 nights and had a great time.
The location is good, The room was great, the breakfasts were delicious and the staff was kind and helpful.
Thanks a lot to Sergio and Ricardo for helping us with everything we needed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holistico, Owner at Holistico Hostal, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review and also as you say Holistico Hostal is a great place for all travelers around the world. Thanks you. Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holistico Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holistico Hostal

Address: 7 Avenida Sur Numero 10, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Holistico Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holistico Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.