We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European style!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Daniel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chez Daniel to your Saves list
Chez Daniel
Calle de San Luquitas No.20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 100 Antigua B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“European style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

A high class hotel, quiet, 10 minute walk from the center.
Great garden and view if the volcano!
I spent 4 night there, suitable for friends who are not looking to party all the time, families and couples. Very safe.
Simple breakfast included.
Clean, roomy, lovely!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
78
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

If I am ever back in Antigua again, I would come back to Chez Daniel. Correspondence for booking and answers to questions via email was very responsive and helpful. We arrived at 11pm at night and someone was there to greet us. We also left at 4:30am and they left out croissant, tea and coffee for us as well as arranging for our transportation. Whatever we needed during our stay they were able to help with including any site-seeing info on Guatemala, a very useful Spanish class, the use of a phone when needed and a map explaining all the highlights to see in Antigua. The website is very accurate as to what you get. Very clean, with lots of space, good beds, great views and sitting areas. I believe there are only 4 rooms so you feel you have the whole place to yourself. The owner and manager are fluent in english. I would think Chez Daniel is much quieter than staying right in town. It is only a 10 minute walk away from the market and 15 minute walk from the main square. A 20Q tuk tuk ride home at night is recommended. Breakfast is orange juice, tea or coffee, bread and croissant with jams. We just bought some fruit at the market to add to our breakfast. All in all a great value for a quiet, very comfortable, well managed place to stay when in Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Chez Daniel for two nights. Before we even got there it was obvious that this was a special place. Our correspondence with Marleni was fast and efficient. The place itself is in a great location to walk the entire city of colonial Antigua. And for longer stays I can't say enough about the kitchen except that I wish that we had one as nice at home! We are coming back as it also is great as an overnight for returns to the airport.. Daniel is also a terrific host and his wonderful photographs are in the rooms and common areas. Thank you all. Roy and Leslie

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent two nights at Chez Daniel and we were very sad to leave! We were welcomed by Marlene who gave us a map of Antigua and showed us where the Chez Daniel was located, the bank, supermarket, and where she recommended going in regards to sights, restaurants, etc. We told her of a few things we had planned on our trip (for example, a hike up Pacaya and taking a cooking class) and she circled a recommended travel agent on the map and cooking school. Marlene also set us up with private transportation to the Chez Daniel from our hotel in Guatemala City and our transportation to Panajachel. The prices for both were very good.

The grounds were absolutely beautiful--Daniel and the staff do an amazing job landscaping. Our room was spacious and had both a full and twin bed, a desk, and built-in closets and dresser for 2. The blankets were locally made weavings and wool and the artwork was photography of Guatemala by the owner (if you want to learn about his art movement, look him up: Daniel Chauche). The bathroom was also spacious with a full bathtub. There was a pitcher of purified water available with cups (and more water available in the kitchen). The room was impeccably clean. Our nights at the Chez were the quiet and the wooden shutters kept the room dark. We loved that the hotel is in the southwest part of Antigua because it was less-traveled and quieter while being just a few minutes walk to anything we wanted to do.

Breakfast is served in a common area next to the kitchen. We weren't sure how it worked the first morning, so let me explain. Grab a seat at one of the place settings. You will be offered a beverage (our options were local coffee, tea, juice or hot chocolate). Next, you will be served a delicious warm croissant, followed by a loaf of bread. In the center of the table will be a selection of jams, butter, and salt for toppings. If you need something a little more filling, there's a full kitchen (and fridge) for your use. The owner, Daniel, will make rounds at breakfast to check in on everyone.

The Chez Daniel is a fantastic, modern B&B. If you're looking for a historical, colonial hotel, this may not be the experience you're seeking. If you're looking for an extended stay, I think you would be hard pressed to find somewhere as comfortable and helpful. We enjoyed the people we met--both the staff and guests. Overall, we loved our stay and we believe the price was unbeatable for the accommodations. We give the Chez Daniel a wholehearted recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjoseca
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed at Chez Daniel two different times in Feb 2014. First time we arrived in evening; they were waiting for us and service was very helpful. All our needs were met; rooms were very spacious and large comfortable bed. Daniel visited us at breakfast on all three days we were there and gave us helpful tourist hints. Good basic breakfast with juice, bread, croissants, and excellent coffee and chocolate.
Couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Having been to Antigua several l times I can say Chez Daniel is where its at! The rooms are spacious and very private with many added touches including divine linens and a wonderful shower/bath. Daniel is a wonderful and attentative host. Included is a continental breafast and full use of a fully equipped kitchen. The garden /patio is very relaxing .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at the start of our tour in Guatemala. It was a great place to begin. Marleni and Daniel were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Fresh towels every day and constant hot water. It is in a very quiet location and we slept very well (even managing to avoid the dreaded jet lag).

The breakfast is basic (croissant, bread, coffee and fresh orange juice) and does get a little boring but we felt that for the price this was not a 'deal breaker'.

For us the location was a bonus. chez Daniel is in a very quiet street but close enough to the centre. It took us a maximum of ten minutes to get to the main square (we can only assume that the previous reviewer had some mobility issues). We also found the Wifi to be quick and certainly strong enough for email and google searches (have to admit we didn't attempt netflix or downloads).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Daniel

Address: Calle de San Luquitas No.20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing to stay Chez Daniel ensures that your visit to Antigua will be both a relaxing, economical but most of all, memorable. When you arrive Chez Daniel, you will be greeted by the comfortable, quiet and secure atmosphere of our B&B, with its majestic view of all three volcanoes in our Panchoy valley and numerous photographs that display a more profound and intimate view of the Guatemalan culture. It is the perfect place to start your exploration of Guatemala and Antigua. The rooms are very large, elegant and light filled, with ample bathrooms including a bathtub, and are equipped with flat screen cable television. We provide all the ease and comforts you will need to have an unforgettable experience in your home away from home, Chez Daniel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Daniel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.