We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Antigua!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Daniel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Daniel
Calle de San Luquitas No.20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 86 Antigua B&B and Inns
Punta Gorda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Antigua!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Really nice, small-scale hotel. Relatively close to the centre of Antigua, about 10 minutes walking distance. Nice breakfast and nice staff. Rooms are big and nicely furnished.

Really nice, small-scale hotel. Relatively close to the centre of Antigua, about 10 minutes walking distance. Nice breakfast and nice staff. Rooms are big and nicely furnished.

Room Tip: They are all very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
64
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A great place to stay. Hosts are very gracious and accommodating. The rooms are big, the showers have hot water, and the veranda looks out on the volcano. Wifi signal was strong in our room. It's a ten minute walk to the main plaza, but I liked being in a local / less touristed part of town.
Breakfast was basic: bread, jam, great coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I honestly don't know how mydaywillcome could say this place is 'very disappointing'. Chez Daniel is absolutely gorgeous, right down to the last detail.
We loved our stay at Chez Daniel. There has indeed been an eye for detail in designing and constructing this place. The rooms are huge - very spacious and light - and the bathrooms are as big as some small bedrooms. Both the bed and the shower were the best we had in our whole time in Central America. Luxury! The decor in the rooms and the shared areas alike was understated and very beautiful. The garden is likewise maintained with attention to detail, and was absolutely immaculate. Daniel's incredible photos bring a touch of Guatemala (outside of Antigua) to your stay. It was also great to have access to such a wonderful kitchen, and I was particularly smitten by the great range of teas to choose from!
The only thing I would change is to have slightly more variety in the breakfast menu (especially if people are gluten intolerant). I, however, loved and thrived on the delicious bread, croissant, fresh orange juice, coffee/tea and particularly the local mango butter. YUM!
Location was great. It is only a 10 min walk from the heart of town, and I enjoyed being a little bit removed from all the action, whilst still well within walking distance. If you're feeling lazy, tuktuks or taxis are easy to find at a very reasonable price.
Marleni was absolutely adorable and so helpful. I also really appreciated that even though her English was better than my Spanish, she was happy to communicate with me in Spanish. I really appreciated this, being someone who was keen to put my language learning into practice, as many other places automatically revert to English with tourists. Both Marleni and Daniel and Marilena gave us so many tips on good things to see and great local places to eat. It was indeed like a home away from home and was a wonderful place to come back to at the end of every day. It is even nicer than the website photos make it look - you won't want to leave!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have wonderful views over the volcano, particularly pretty at sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you choose to stay at a B&B for ambiance, then Chez Daniel is Not for you. There is essentially no greenery or garden; no place to rest and relax. The one lounge chair there was torn, and there was no place to get comfortable. We stayed, based on previous reviews, despite the location being an extra 15 minute walk from most of the sites. Unfortunately it was noisy-- while there is music all over the city, which is actually a nice flavor of the culture, we were subjected to the pounding bass of someone's music both nights (Like the stereo coming through the walls of an apartment). Of all the hotels and B&Bs we stayed at in Guatemala, Chez Daniel was the only place I had to use earplugs to sleep. I knew beforehand that there was no real breakfast. I think they use the word "authentic" on the website, but the truth is its simply average coffee and bread (not even fresh!) with Smuckers jam. Sorta takes the B out of B&B. By comparison, we had fabulous breakfasts at the other places we stayed at in Antigua. However, if your goal is a place to do your own cooking -- and that includes breakfast-- and a large clean room, you wont be disappointed. This B&B is best suited for those who plan longer stays, who want to do their own cooking, and want affordability. If you want a beautiful, comfortable environment, restfulness and quiet, an ambiance that you look forward to going to after a full day, and a real breakfast in the morning, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezDaniel, Owner at Chez Daniel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
I will have to say that our guest's visit came at a very atypical moment and I understand from the staff that there was cause for the noise complaint. There was a graduation party on friday night, three blocks away that was felt as mostly bass sounds, there was road repair going on during one of the days and the next day there was a fire on our street with all the noise such things entail. With only that 2 days as a window I can understand their frustration. However their inability to distinguish between this constellation of atypical events and to present them as if this was a the general situation when staying Chez Daniel, is a highly unfair criticism.
I just came back from being away for an extended visit outside the country and yes two of our deck chairs during that time were damaged and were not replaced or repaired, fair enough. That is now taken care of with the purchase 4 reclining deck chairs. I will note that there are four tables with chairs, 3 of which are shaded to "rest and relax" at, you can see them on many of the photos other travelers have left on our TA site. As to breakfast and greenery, look at the photographs on our TA site and you will see that nothing was ever misrepresented. I would just add that to a person, the other visiters we have had, who have left a reviews, would disagree vigorously with this particular reviewers assertions.

Respects

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Chez Daniel was our home in Antigua. The best part of it all was the access to the kitchen. We didn't use it as much as we could, but we did enjoy spending a lunch cooking what we gathered from the local market and the tienda across the street that sold eggs and tortillas. We used the blender to make fresh salsa and actually saved ourselves a few time by having access to a quick snack between our busy tourist appointments.

Marleni was who we coordinated with ahead of our trip and was also our host while we were there. She is a warm and professional woman who makes you feel confident under her care. Each morning during breakfast (which was a delicious plate of fruit and a warm croissant) we were able to check-in with her about our upcoming plans and she was able to set us up with a trip to Mt. Pacaya (I had almost booked one with an expensive agency and she said that the $10 one she knew about was totally good - she was right), a coffee tour and she set us on our way many times with solid directions (like the time we wanted to take the chicken bus to a neighboring town). The hotel doesn't have too many guests which makes it cozy. I had scheduled an appointment with Nancy for a massage after our hike and she offered to come to Chez Daniel. I didn't realize that they know Nancy and were welcoming of this. It was pure luxury to have a massage and then fall asleep for a nap.

Regarding the walk to city center - there may be hotels that are closer to everything - but in all reality it was a short walk and the distance from the businesses made it more quiet and relaxing. My boyfriend was certain that it was safe at night and we did walk home around 9pm a few times, but everyone told us to take a cab at night so we followed the local advice. During the day there was no problem.

At the end of our trip we decided to return to Antigua and we were happy to choose Chez Daniel again. The rooms and bathroom were spacious and clean and I loved the little garden. There was an odd cedar small in the room, which I found odd, but aside from that everything was great! It felt very private and we enjoyed the balcony - one night drinking wine on it (the kitchen again saved the day) and another morning I did yoga while looking at the volcano.

I highly recommend Chez Daniel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copan Ruinas, Honduras
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great over sized room and absolutely huge bathroom, plenty of storage space, soft lighting and all tastefully done in lovely natural woods. All very clean and tidy. Great photography adorn the walls. Set in a nice quiet neighborhood, we appreciated the distinct lack of traffic and street noise in the mornings. Speaking of mornings, the breakfasts which are included in rate are wonderful; fresh crunchy and buttery croissants and crusty baguette, real butter, fruit with lovely natural plain yogurt, fresh squeezed orange juice and of course good coffee. As I live in a small, rural town in Honduras, a breakfast like this is like a dream come true!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

As so many other reviews note, this spacious B&B is ideal for long or shorter visits, and we were fortunate to have found it through the recommendation of a B&B proprietor in Panajachel. Daniel, a world-class photographer, and Maria Elena, who works with kids, are gracious hosts who alerted us to a performance of the National Ballet of Guatemala. And, of course, at about $50 per night, it's a great value, but I'd be glad to pay a little more for a bigger breakfast, although the croissants and juice were always fresh and delicious, and the young woman who served us was most cordial. You can't go wrong at Chez Daniel.

Room Tip: We liked being on the balcony level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Daniel

Address: Calle de San Luquitas No.20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing to stay Chez Daniel ensures that your visit to Antigua will be both a relaxing, economical but most of all, memorable. When you arrive Chez Daniel, you will be greeted by the comfortable, quiet and secure atmosphere of our B&B, with its majestic view of all three volcanoes in our Panchoy valley and numerous photographs that display a more profound and intimate view of the Guatemalan culture. It is the perfect place to start your exploration of Guatemala and Antigua. The rooms are very large, elegant and light filled, with ample bathrooms including a bathtub, and are equipped with flat screen cable television. We provide all the ease and comforts you will need to have an unforgettable experience in your home away from home, Chez Daniel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Daniel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chez Daniel to your Saves list