We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Daniel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chez Daniel to your Saves list
Chez Daniel
Calle de San Luquitas No.20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 100 Antigua B&B and Inns
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

After a mission trip to Guatemala City, we spent a few days of R&R at Chez Daniel. This is a true gem behind the walls. Daniel and Marlene are the perfect hosts. Super clean rooms, great breakfast with hot chocolate and Lattes. They provided us with the best of information as what to do and where to eat. Despite the rain, they brought the sunshine out with their hospitality. We will definitely return to stay here! Don't forget to ask Daniel about his world renown photography!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
78
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olten
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Chez Daniel is a beauty of a hotel. The first time for a really long time, I had a nice bathtub. The views from the terrace are amazing (if there are no clouds) and the whole setting is nearly perfect.
Daniel and his wife Marlene are great hosts and will answer you any question you may have. We’ve hardly ever seen comparable quality for such a good price.
And if you know something about a good breakfast (we’re not talking about toast-bread and similar things) and you like it, just go there!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezDaniel, Propietario at Chez Daniel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you very much for your words and hope we see you again.

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAPLES
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Our stay at "Chez Daniel " was the difference from being a wonderful visit to Guatemala, to being an unforgettable experience!! As an avid amateur photographer, I wanted to take advantage of the " Dia de los Muertos " celebrations, to explore the sacred spaces, learn local history and experience the Antiqua art scene. While Marleni and Roberto made us feel comfortable and pampered, it was the advice and suggestions from Maria Elena and Daniel that allowed us to accomplish the innumerable must do activities and events that filled our days.
Daniel in particular is attentive to detail, from how he built his " Bed & Breakfast ", how he captures the essence of his subjects and most of all for us, how he helped craft a unique itinerary never to be forgotten. We are very fortunate to have Maria Elena and Daniel become part of our journey!!! It also didn't hurt to have a room with a view!

Room Tip: Always ask if a second floor room is available. The views are extrodinary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
1,129 reviews 1,129 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 335 cities Reviews in 335 cities
580 helpful votes 580 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Spent three nights here with husband. I can't say enough wonderful things about Chez Daniel. Everything from our initial check-in experience to the hugs upon departure was awesome.

Marleni handled our arrival and showed us to our room. Our room was one of four, and on the second floor. It is very spacious with lots of storage (closets) and tastefully decorated with Mayan textiles and original B&W photographs. It's like staying in an art gallery.

The B&B is on a quiet street just 5 minutes walk from the Heart of Antigua.

Breakfast was delicious from the warm croissants and baguette to Roberto's handcrafted cappuccinos and Guatemalan hot chocolate.

Daniel and Marielena are on hand in the mornings to answer questions and provide advice/guidance for shopping, sightseeing, and dining.

Guests can make themselves at home in the common kitchen and store food/beverages in the fridge.

The views of the volcano from the second floor are beautiful and the peace and quiet of the neighborhood are appreciated. Flat screen TV with cable in the room; no private phone. Free wifi.

Treat yourself to a wonderful vacation in Antigua and stay here.

We look forward to returning to Chez Daniel VERY soon!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We came to Guatemala on very short notice. The only planing we did was to send off a few emails for lodging availability the night before our arrival. Fortunately Marlena responded quickly and Chez Daniel was at the top of our list based on TripAdvisor reviews.
This Place is hard to find if you haven't been to Antigua before. It took a local guide we picked up from the Plaza to help us find it. An address and a map, before I got there would have solved this.
When We got there Maria Elana met us with a friendly smile and helped us with our room and parking the car. They have a safe place inside their walls for parking a car. Maria Elana and Daniel sat with us and helped us plan our perfect three day Guatemala trip. We had a map of Antigua which they marked the best restaurants and sites to visit. The food was spectacular at La Pena de Sol Latino and Tartines.
They helped us plan a trip to Lake Atitlan. We thought we could do it in a day but Daniel suggested staying a night would be better. He even called and reserved us a room at Posada de Santiago. This was in an area less touristy than Panajachel and our timing was right to visit the Maximon (pronounced "Mashimon").
Chez Daniel rooms are big and comfortable and decorated with Daniels photography which reflects the unique identity of the Guatemalan. Search Daniel Chauche. Great Coffee and croissants in the morning.
If your looking for the perfect bed and breakfast with Knowledgeable, Friendly, and helpful owners, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had a great time at Chez Daniel's! Each morning we had a great breakfast.The room we had was very big, and the seperate bathroom, also huge! It felt like our home for a couple of days. Really quiet and near to the city centre. Chez Daniel was our most favourite place of our Latin America trip, which we made this summer. Great, great, great! And very nice, beautiful photo's as the owner is a very good photographer.

Room Tip: the rooms on top are really great, nice view from the window; you can see the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

What a hidden gem!! This is the place to go to find a bit of quiet and hidden charm. The rooms are clean, attractive, very comfortable, and filled with gorgeous art work. OK, if you want to be right in the middle of things, this may not be the place for you. In fact, there's no way to know that there's a hotel on the street if you didn't know the street number it's that subtle and fits in so aptly with the neighborhood. Yet the property iteself is an oasis from the hustle and the bustle. The owner and caretakers are so kind. The view of the surroundings are spectacular, and the price cannot be beat. I went with two of my teenaged sons. I had one room, and they shared another. Everyone was in heaven. Don't miss this find.

Room Tip: If you want two rooms next to one another without others on your level, ask for the two upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Daniel

Address: Calle de San Luquitas No.20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing to stay Chez Daniel ensures that your visit to Antigua will be both a relaxing, economical but most of all, memorable. When you arrive Chez Daniel, you will be greeted by the comfortable, quiet and secure atmosphere of our B&B, with its majestic view of all three volcanoes in our Panchoy valley and numerous photographs that display a more profound and intimate view of the Guatemalan culture. It is the perfect place to start your exploration of Guatemala and Antigua. The rooms are very large, elegant and light filled, with ample bathrooms including a bathtub, and are equipped with flat screen cable television. We provide all the ease and comforts you will need to have an unforgettable experience in your home away from home, Chez Daniel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Daniel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.