We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more serenity that should be allowed! amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Daniel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chez Daniel to your Saves list
Chez Daniel
Calle de San Luquitas No.20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 88 Antigua B&B and Inns
Santiago Atitlan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“more serenity that should be allowed! amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Another of these hidden gems that Antigua Guatemala has to offer. With so many lodging options in Antigua, we stumbled upon "Chez Daniel".My oh my what a fantastic little place this was. The personalised attention from the owner right from the start was a nice touch and the rooms were quite a treat. The owner , we found out , is a famous photographer in Guatemala and his pictures (mainly depicting guatemalan themes) were hung all over the place giving the hotel a "gallery" feel to it.He even ended up taking our portraits in a makeshift studio on the premises!(still waiting for them though!)
The wifi was great to have and the breakfast hit the spot. The only down side I have to say is that the bed was a little small. (i must say i am a "big" guy and i generally sleep in a king size. Oh well!.
Thank you for sharing this treasure with us Daniel and next time we are in Antigua we will surely stay with you again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
68
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I stayed here for two nights last week on my first visit to Antigua, and couldn't have been happier with this charming B and B. The rooms and bathrooms are large and clean, and feature museum-quality photographs of indigenous Guatemalans which give a unique local flavor to the hotel. I particularly enjoyed the terrace outside the upstairs rooms with its fantastic view of two volcanoes. (Nice place for some early morning yoga before enjoying the excellent coffee and fresh-squeezed orange juice!) It’s just a few minutes walk from the hotel to the market and from there to the plaza. The host, Daniel, was very helpful in pointing us towards several places to visit in town which we probably wouldn’t have found otherwise. Great bargain, too!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Clean and spacious rooms. The kind of place you could be comfortable in for an extended stay with lots of storage space , large modern shared kitchen, off street parking and a great bed. The host is a charming and talented photographer who not only chronicles the history of Guatemala through his work, but he makes a fabulous cappuccino as well!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I stayed at Chez Daniel's for two nights this week for business and pleasure, which were easily well mixed from this hotelito. The charming small hotel is very comfortable, clean, quiet and a real bargain. Huge bathrooms. Bigger bthan mine.
Inpeccable woodwork. Daniel's photographs---well, it's like you are staying in a gallery. They document life and part of this country's history. Great coffee and fresh orange juice; good view of the volcanoes from the upstairs patio.
Really nice kitchen. Bigger than mine at home.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Daniel

Address: Calle de San Luquitas No.20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing to stay Chez Daniel ensures that your visit to Antigua will be both a relaxing, economical but most of all, memorable. When you arrive Chez Daniel, you will be greeted by the comfortable, quiet and secure atmosphere of our B&B, with its majestic view of all three volcanoes in our Panchoy valley and numerous photographs that display a more profound and intimate view of the Guatemalan culture. It is the perfect place to start your exploration of Guatemala and Antigua. The rooms are very large, elegant and light filled, with ample bathrooms including a bathtub, and are equipped with flat screen cable television. We provide all the ease and comforts you will need to have an unforgettable experience in your home away from home, Chez Daniel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chez Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Daniel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.