We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying at Hotel La Catedral” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel la Catedral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4a Avenida Sur #4, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved staying at Hotel La Catedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice stay. Staff was great. Made to order breakfast was good. Loved the king bed after sleeping on a bed a bit bigger then a twin with hubby for ten days. Location was ideal for walking all over Antiqua. Loved the ruins at the cathedral in the plaza.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Google Translation
Estimados Huespedes:

Nos alegra que nuestra ubicacion les haya ayudado a disfrutar aun mas su estadia en el Hotel La
Catedral.

Para nuestro Staff fue un gusto atenderlos y todos esperamos que vuelvan pronto, si ademas nos pueden traer esta respuesta impresa, el Hotel los invitara a una botella de vino tinto o blanco para que la disfruten en el area de su predileccion.

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    32
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
36
68
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed a few days at this hotel and it was one of the nicest places we have stayed in Central America.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, just off the main square. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and helpful, the rooms incredibly comfortable, good value got money and a great breakfast as well.
I would highly recommend this hotel.
If you are not an early riser, ask to be in a room away from the breakfast area as the only fault was we could hear people outside our room from about 7am.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaCatedral, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias a TripAdvisor que es nuestra mejor herramienta de promoción ustedes supieron de nosotros.
Tenemos es cierto una muy buena ubicación ya que estamos cerca de todos los puntos mas importantes en Antigua, pero nos complace mucho saber que fueron bien atendidos por el personal
del Hotel, que tuvieron un buen descanso y una buena experiencia con nosotros. Esperamos que
vuelvan pronto. Los esperamos.
Atentamente,
Marina Santano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This small hotel is well maintained. My room was spotless. There is an actual menu for breakfast, with about ten different items. Breakfast is included in the price. There is one computer available for guests, which is very fast. There is also free wifi throughout.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Owner at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Google Translation
Nos alegra haberlo servido como se merece en Hotel La Catedral ! Esperamos que vuelva
pronto.
Atentamente,
Marina Santano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We spend four wonderful days in this hotel. It is really close to the city center (less than 1 min!). We wish you will have the same pleasure. The personal is really kind, they prepared for us break first event the days we had to leave early. The room is very clean and the bathroom is really nice, especially the shower.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Owner at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Google Translation
Nos Alegra hayan disfrutado cuatro dias en Hotel La Catedral y saber por TripAdvisor que es nuestra mejor herramienta de promocion que tuvieron un descanso placentero y que la atencion del personal fue buena. Esperamos que vuelvan pronto.
Atentamente,
Marina Santano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a lovely peaceful spot to stay and conveniently close to the market square, restaurants and cathedral. . Rooms are clean and nicely appointed.
Staff were helpful at all times. They made arrangements for an early morning taxi to take us to the airport. We also appreciated the box breakfast which was provided to us for our early drive to Guatemala City airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huesped:

Nos alegra saber que fue bien atendido por el personal del Hotel La Catedral y que disfruto nuestra ubicacion para caminar en el Centro Historico. Tambien que el transporte fue adecuado.

Esperamos que vuelva pronto a disfrutar de nuestro Hotel y de nuestra bella ciudad. Fue un gusto tenerlo con nosotros.

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hotel La Catedral is a wonderful hotel near the parque central in Antigua. Its central location is ideal for walking around to explore the city and for a short walk home after a nice dinner in one of the local restaurants. The best thing about this hotel is its small size, 8 rooms. You feel like you are in your own home in the middle of Antigua.
Marcos, the manager, was very helpful and answered all of our questions. He was able to arrange transport from and to the airport (40 USD each way). I am not sure about the name of the transport company, but our driver was Nino, a very nice man who was great to chat with on the way from and to the airport.
Breakfast is included with your hotel stay and the menu has a nice variety of choices. I enjoyed the Ranchero (huevos rancheros) and my wife really liked the omelete de jamón, queso, y champiñones (ham, cheese, and mushrooms). We both loved the coffee. The woman who serves breakfast is Beatriz, a sweet lady that knew our names after the first day.
We had room #4. It was very comfortable. The windows open wide if you turn the handles 90 degrees, or tip out from the top end to let air in if you turn the handles 180 degrees. Don't forget that you have to put your toilet paper in the little basket next to the toilet-this goes for toilets in the whole city. The rooms are very clean and the turn-down service was a nice touch.
We were thrilled with Hotel la Catedral and will certainly use this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great place for exploring and walking Antigua! Lovely amenities, great bed and updated bathroom. We enjoyed being 1 block from the park yet our stay was quiet and restful.
In the morning, we enjoyed a great complimentary breakfast as served on the patio adjacent to a lovely garden.
Definitely coming back to this boutique hotel!

Room Tip: we enjoyed the corner room across from the entry
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Catedral

Address: 4a Avenida Sur #4, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Catedral 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Catedral is an authentic Spanish Colonial house, originally built as part of the "Palacio de los Capitanes Generales" in the center of Antigua, Guatemala. Its construction began in 1558. The space was rebuilt in 1754 and it was used as the residence of the General Capitan. The hotel is located one block from the Central Park and the Cathedral (Catedral de Santiago). It is within a minute or two walking distance from many restaurants, cafes, boutiques, and Spanish Colonial ruins. As one of the original structures in Antigua, Hotel La Catedral preserves its charm and elegance and it has been completely restored to bring you all the comfort and rest you're looking for during your stay. It has a very cozy and romantic environment, just like Antigua itself. The hotel has 8 rooms with a King Size bed or with two Full Size beds. Each room individually decorated to give you a slightly different feel each time you visit us. All of them are equipped with Flat Panel TV set, DVD Player, Cable TV, Security Box, Wireless Internet (at no additional cost), telephone and alarm clock. All bathrooms are stylishly and individually designed with antique marble. All toiletries and hair dryer also included. All our rates include, Full a La Carte Breakfast, free international calls to designated countries (time limited) and private parking in the same location. In the same facilities we have an equipped private meeting room and a Family Lounge-Bar. We also organize and coordinate your Tour needing's to any other beautiful destinations as well as transportation from and to Guatemala City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel la Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.