We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner, personal attention, and entertainment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cargo Room - CLOSED

Cargo Room
Corner 6th Str. and 7th Ave., Antigua, Guatemala
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Guatemalan
Restaurant details
Lake Atitlan
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Dinner, personal attention, and entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Cargo Room is both a restaurant, a jewelery store, and a personal theater for the charismatic owner Lex. Lex Cargo is has designed jewelery for the rich and famous, and has retail locations in Coral Gables, Miami and Madrid, Spain. However Antigua is his home and his place to relax and entertain his "best friends for a night". He makes each guest feel special and attends to each table all throughout the night. His drink specials are unique and tasty. The food is exceptional and each dish has some surprise ingredient that sets it apart from the norm.
Plan on a fun night at the Cargo Room, and you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eatonton, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Like having your own personal chef & staff in a unique setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

How do I descibe this experience? The owner LEX is an artist with his food, decorating and the jewelry he makes. He has not only made personal items for royalty & stars but probably has had the WHO;s WHO of the world in this establishment. Music plays all the time keeping the tempo upbeat. The trip to the CARGO ROOM would be worth the trip just to meet LEX even if you didn't have food...which I suggest you do! Cocktails...some of the most wonderfull drinks I have ever experienced! You must get him to show you all the magazines that have written about him...some even cover stories. This was probably one of the most entertaining dinners I have ever experienced! Wait! The staff...best personal service ever!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lex...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

He will show you the best offerings in cocktail drinks and jewelry... this is a page out of james thurber...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The Cargo room is a special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I have walked past the Cargo room for at least three years. I thought it was a jewelry store. That is what you see, Jewelry. Lex the owners is a designer of many things and Jewelry is one. Food is his next interest.

You walk past the Jewelry and into a small room that seats maybe 20 people. Decorated kind of like a turkish style big pillows a row of bench seating it is tastefully decorated. Warm and comfortable.

From this very small kitchen Lex and his staff will pamper you. No looking around for a waiter, nothing out of place on your table and yes Lex is in place a handsome and charming young man that greats everyone and is attentive without interruption.

Much of the glasses, and appointments were designed by Lex. Like his Martini glasses which are unique as is his ability to make a killer Martini. Think of the top half of a Martini glass with the stem cut off, then place that into another glass to act as the base. Now fill this base with crushed ice fill the top with the Martini and you have a chilled Martini without taking away the taste.

Martini’s Cargo offers include Gin and Vodka with all the versions one might think, cry, dirty you get my point. Size is also a consideration and the Cargo room does not short you in that department Large Martini’s at a great price by the way.

The menu is as unusual as all aspects of this Restaurant, we started with as I would call it a Carrot salad with a home made dressing, then we added mushrooms. Okay that all sounds kind of average well it was great the four of us licked our plates clean.

The main course three of us had pasta and I had a seafood crepe. Not a big crepe fan but it was again not like any crepe I have had before. The pasta as the girls stated and yes I had a sample was great.

Then to close out the evening shots of Tequila, delivered as one should see Tequila, Lemon and Salt on a plate. Lex came buy and gave us a round of shots. Which leads me to talk about the service. The Cargo room was busy a large crowd of tourist had found this place. You know what that means when you are behind a big group that has ordered ahead of you. Not the case we were served and cared for as if we were the only people in the Cargo Room.

Yes you can smoke not in the restaurant part. You enter back into the Jewelry store and sit by an open window away form everyone.

Sorry no pictures one of the few times I did not feel like taking some.

Loved it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Gem near the Heart of Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We came by The Cargo Room quite accidentally and were graciously invited in by the owner/operator Lex Cargo. An eclectic menu that includes recipes from his Grandmother's kitchen---with his added creativity--and other menu delights! Delicious and beautifully presented. The restaurant is coupled with a section of his amazing jewellry creations. A must for a visit and a meal!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cargo Room also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cargo Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.