We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel EuroMaya Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel EuroMaya Suites to your Saves list
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7a. Calle Poniente No. 43, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved this little hotel. Very big room (duplex :-D) with very competive price and very good breakfast!The people where very nice to us. There are not a lot of rooms, so it's very quiet. They run also a travelagency, that makes it easy for arrangements.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    24
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
41
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Euromaya suites for a total of five nights. There is no doubt whatsoever that the suites offer some of the best value for money in terms of space of rooms. Room 1 where we stayed was absolutely enormous, being on two levels. The bathroom, made of shower and toilet was downstairs with a wooden staircase leading to a very large and spacious bedroom. The upstairs had an open feel to it with a small window looking over the building.
The sound proofing in the room in spite of very thick hard walls was suspect. We could hear a couple staying in the next door room talking clearly, which was really perturbing. Also the shower downstairs had a design fault in terms drainage. Its drain had a round brass top with the outer ring where holes were supposed to allow water out. Sadly it never worked properly in spite of bringing this to the attention of reception. In order to ensure basic hygiene, my wife and I wore rubber flip flops whilst showering. The water, with or without the brass top never drained properly, primarily due to a design fault in the drainage that the hotel must address. One night I saw a cockroach appear out of the drain. I promptly dealt with it, but did not bring it to the attention of the hotel.
Despite this, the positives of the hotel are immense. The staff, with Karina being the pick of reception staff. However the best advert for the suites are the excellent kitchen/housekeeping pair of Helena and Sandra. They were simply outstanding and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: The mezzanine rooms with high ceilings are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Large, spacious clean and comfortable room with private bathroom (hot water too!). Overlooking a outdoor mezzanine. Breakfast included with cheerful and chatty staff close to hand. A real delight. Although no pool on site we were able to use another hotels pool for free.

Room Tip: Ask for the room connecting to the mezzanine, it's almost like an extra room just for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This was my third time rating at Euromaya. I choose this hotel because it is the only one I can find that allows pets. Overall, I feel like the rooms may be slightly over priced but they make up for it by allowing my dog to stay. The whole staff is incredibly friendly and they will do whatever it takes To make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is very nice and cozy, a good place to start to explore Antigua. People at the reception desk are very polite and helpful: we were looking for a barber and they recommended us a really good one just one block away. Breakfast is very good, served in a nice interior patio, which is typical from Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went on spring break vacation with three friends, and we rent a suit. It was really neat, clean, great furniture, the only thing was that the bathroom was too small and that the pool is actually in another hotel, so we had to walk like two blocks to get there.
Breakfasts were great, nice service. I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Remembering that this hotel is in the beautiful city of Antigua, noted for it's service and attention to detail, great food, friendliness, views, etc., I will give this an not quite average review for Antigua. We left the hotel after one night for several reasons, including an unsafe stairway, wanting a bath on the same level as the bedroom (sorry, but ....), and the kind of cave like feeling in the place. Also we were confused as to the services of this hotel when we booked.... many reviews shown on the internet sites actually refer to their sister hotel, Hotel EuroMaya, which does have views, is close to town, etc. Our taxi driver who brought us to the hotel told us that the area was unsafe to walk at night. So this is not the hotel with the third floor view (or any view, it's like a cave), nor close to any restaurants (the clerk said we would have to walk to town, like 15 min. away and who knows if the taxi driver was correct.......)
Breakfast was nice and the Suites were clean. Internet wifi from one particular orange chair in the lobby during our stay.
I think for the price, you would be better staying nearer town. For an extra $10, you can stay in a first class hotel. I would make sure I understood the details of this particular hotel vs. it's sister before making a reservation.
Sorry, this one didn't do much for us.... possibly because there are so many other hotels to choose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel EuroMaya Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel EuroMaya Suites

Address: 7a. Calle Poniente No. 43, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel EuroMaya Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel EuroMaya Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel EuroMaya Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.