We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASMIC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tartines

Tartines
4a Calle Oriente No. 1-C, Antigua, Guatemala
78824606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 238 Restaurants in Antigua
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“FANTASMIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

The best food I've had in 5 months and 8 countries. We have eaten out a lot in our last 5 months on the road. We've had the tapas, 12 course tasting menus at restaurants in San Pellegrino's top 50, the fusion, the haute, the works. When it comes to simply outstanding food - this place is it.

The rooftop terrace looks down on to the ruins of an old Catherdral - a good start. Our waiter was super nice and when asked for the wine list he returned with the list as well as a wine bottle of his recommendation to show us. An Argentinean 09' Malbec which was only decent but good value for money. But what fantastic service!

We started with the rich and hearty French onion soup to share - which was plenty. It was made in true french style and was pretty close on perfect - with the cheese still bubbling at the table.

I had the steak with the gorgonzola, amond, and porcini mushroom sauce. It comes with perfectly crispy french fries and string beans soaked in generous portions of garlic and butter. The sauce was simply phenomenal and clearly made by someone with adeptness for cooking. The consistency, flavour and fragrances were perfect. The monstrous fillet that I ordered blue arrive blue (which doesn't happen often) and was most certainly of the highest quality meat - it was melt in your mouth.

The experience was amazing. It is true good food. Normal white plate, run of the mill cutlery, presentation of home cooked food, but the taste! Out of this world.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    48
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Simply delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We saw on the front of the restaurant a sign that said something like 'best view in Antigua!' so, we decided to check the restaurant out because of that. We had to wait a little because everyone wanted a seat on the rooftop area, but it was worth the wait. Is it the best view in Antigua? nope, but its a good view! That said, the view may not be the best in Antigua, but the food probably is! My husband had a steak (I can't remember which one, but it was the best steak i've tried!I) and I had a quiche, which was amazing! even the salad on the side was amazing! I recommend you enjoy your meal there with a bottle of your favorite wine! (they have a wide selection of wines there). We had a great time, and you probably will, too.

Bottom line: When in Antigua, visit Tartines!

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great View of Cathedral Ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We didn't eat here. We just stopped for a drink and enjoyed the great view of the Cathedral ruins that you can see from their upstairs terrace. Definitely worth a stop in. It's right off the square.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We have spent the last month sampling Antigua's many excellent restaurants. Tartines is the best of the best. Lunch on the terrace rewards you with great views of the neighboring ruins and volcanos. The ratatouille crepe was incredibly good & the nicoise salad was excellent. Dinner was equally tasty. The streak was ever so tender and the sauce on the fish was delectable. The desserts were to die for... hard to decide whether the banana orange crepe or the pina colada mousse was the best. Our only regret was we didn't have room to sample the dessert of the day! Don't miss it.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cute place, but weak service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010 via mobile

We had a mishap that was poorly handled. Went for a quick lunch at 1:30 to try their signature paninis. Other tables were quickly seated and served, but something clearly went awry with our order. After about 40 minutes of seeing more recent patrons served, we alerted the waiter that there might be something wrong. He politely told us that everything was all set, but required another reminder some time later. I suspect the order was never placed, yet they never noticed that we weren't served.

Thus was clearly an anomaly, since everyone else was seated and served in a reasonable time, an I would be more forgiving if the order came through accurately, but it wasn't. So they lose points for incompetence.

Nice setting, prices reasonable for the ambience. Sandwiches were nothing special, so try something else.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartines also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Tartines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tartines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.