We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforts of home in this 2 story condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of All Suite El Marques de Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added All Suite El Marques de Antigua to your Saves list
All Suite El Marques de Antigua
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4 Ave. Sur No.30, Antigua 01015, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 89 Antigua B&B and Inns
Phila. PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Comforts of home in this 2 story condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Once we arrived we were greeted at the closed gate by the 24 hour security guard. We were pleasingly surprised when we walked into the condo. We had a small living room, dining room, full kitchen with cooking utensils, washer & dryer and private open air outside sitting area downstairs. Upstairs was the bathroom and bedroom with ample room. Our walk into town discovered a very small grocery store 1 block away for basic needs but a larger grocery store on the other side of the main town courtyard about 6 blocks away. Everything you need to do such as shopping and restaurants is within walking distance and a car is not needed while at this location. We did use the car to go sight seeing, off the complex, to the Filadelfia Coffee Plantation.

The only negative feature was the television as it is upstairs in the bedroom, We were there with our daughter and her friend (they had their own condo) but when we visited each other it would have been nice to have a television downstairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
7
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHICAGO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This rental place was just perfect for our needs. A very comfortable apartment with a very basic kitchen was our home in between our trips to lake atitlan and Tikal. The hotel accomodated our wish to leave some luggage there even though we didn't pay for the room the nights that we were gone. The doorman greeted is cheerfully at 4 am when we had to catch our bus to the Capitol on each occasion. Our two boys loved the loft and being able to toss things to each other.. They asked a couple of times after we left that hotel, "will the next hotel was nice as the one in Antigua?" The hotel is located in a residential part of town, so the only noises we dealt with were the fire cracker on July 4.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Quite wonderful modern condo, with all the modern amenities: full kitchen with microwave, washer and dryer, dining table, ceiling fan, fan unit and cable TV. I had #9 which is next to office and a single unit, meaning no other condo in front/behind, so my stay was perfectly quiet.

Nice have the gated 24 hour security: Andres and Fernando are kind and helpful. Right next to the guard station is a filtered water unit, so you can fill up with water regularly (they provide a good size pitcher for this). Loved having this as it saved the effort of bringing in from the market. The wifi is quite (very) weak, though the norm for all of Antigua: appear to have all bars of reception but just can't get to Internet pages, very sketchy at best, but again issue not specific to the condo.

Wish the TV was downstairs so can enjoy in the living room, instead of the bedroom, which is not a private room, overhangs looking down to the living room...just know if in case you are having guests or for the echo. Also wish they had stronger lighting or screens on windows, as it means being completely open and lots of Mosquitos in. Have comfortable dining table and sofa with coffee table. There is not AC, but a ceiling fan in

Had a fireplace but no wood, so on your own to provide. Patio is in a small claustrophobic 4 high wall square. Not very comfy to feel that you are enjoying enjoying being outside. The weekly cleaning woman, sometimes would be able to lock the door....which I just couldn't ever figure out, it is safe but just a bummer so claustrophobic, wish there was a common outdoor area to relax, enjoy being outside. For this, you will have to go around the corner to Panza Verde for their rooptop terrace. Hotel Antigua about a 1 1/2 long blocks away, you will find an ATM machine right inside their doors better to use than those in then in Central Parque area.

Speaking of area: to me the downside of the condo. Yes in a quite, tranquil, nicer area...but too quiet and at a distance from the center of town. The avenues are quite long, and without many stores; so at night, feel too quiet and remote. Also means finding a tuk tuk (local simple taxi/moped) is not so easy to obtain., even in the day. The Mercado and Supermarket (La Bodegona) are a good 15-20 minutes walk away, so with lots of groceries, you will need a tuk tuk.

No tuk tuks operate after 10pm, so streets are really very very quiet and empty if trying to walk home,

Overall very much enjoyed my stay. Really well appointed condo and staff (the guards and of course David and Lesly). Very reasonable price (though it was interesting, always had to remind them of their original price they quoted me - I extended my stay - , as when I waited to confirm, somehow the price would increase exorbitantly, but they always then honored the first and lower price)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Well it's been about a year since my fiance (who's indigenous to Guate) and I stayed at El Marques for 5 days.... overall we found the suite charming and livable. The staff was very accommodating, polite; We found the weekly rate very low given the amenities and size of the split level loft style units. There's a patio off the living room w/a little sittee we enjoyed having fresh brewed coffee and breakfast we whipped up before a day of site seeing..... the kitchen and rooms were always made up upon our return!!
Yes we would recommend & consider returning to El Marques in our future travels to Antigua.

Room Tip: If you're considering extended stay the kitchen is stocked w/dishes, flatware, pots & pans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here w/ our three little kids (8, 6, 4). Four blocks from the park and/or La Iglesia de San Francisco. We stayed in the big suite w two beds. We were thrilled to have a modest kitchen and hot water. Okay, it wasn't 400-year old adobe, but who cares when you have your own washer/dryer and stove?

Someone pointed out earlier that their slusing door wouldn't lock. We found this to be true in our unit as well. I ended up using the dustpan handle as a door lock, which worked alright. I can understand her concern, as the unlocked door expised to the outside was unsettling.

Would we stay again? Certainly. Especially for an extended stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpradomarques, Gerente at All Suite El Marques de Antigua, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks for your review and we hope you visit us again soon. About the sliding doors lock, sorry if yours didn´t locked; we checked all the doors by now and a few were not locking, now all do! The courtyards in each suite are inside the condominium, not bordering the street, and we have gate personal 24/7 plus security video cameras. We appreciate your concerns and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel in Antigua, about 7 blocks from Central Park, beautiful, cozy two- story villas with washer, dryer, full kitchen, two beds + comfortable sofa bed. Parking included right in front of the rooms. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I recently enjoyed a wonderful trip to Guatemala. I highly recommend spending some time in Antigua Guatemala, so close to Guatemala City and in my own opinion, the most beautiful city in the world. We stayed at El Marques de Antigua. It is kind of a townhouse complex where you can rent individual units. We decided for this place because it is located just 4 blocks from the Central Park and several restaurants with all types of food. Our experience was much better than staying in a hotel. The units are fully furnished in a real "Antigua style", price is extremely affordable, and service is excellent. A great way (and maybe the only way) to experience Antigua Guatemala!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to All Suite El Marques de Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All Suite El Marques de Antigua

Address: 4 Ave. Sur No.30, Antigua 01015, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — All Suite El Marques de Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Marques de Antigua is a unique ALL SUITE HOTEL, the only one in beautiful Antigua, Guatemala. With a very nice location, four blocks from Antigua Central Park, on 4th ave south, a quite and secure avenue, staying here you are walking distance to restaurants, spas, art galleries and churches. We have two types of suites: Loft Dona Beatriz and Loft Don Pedro, fully furnished and equipped with all you need for the best time, specially for extended stays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your All Suite El Marques de Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage All Suite El Marques de Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.