We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Clean, Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda to your Saves list
Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda
1a. Calle Poniente, No. 37, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Extremely Clean, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

You can do a lot worse in Antigua for the price. We paid 180Q a day for a private room with a shared bath. This is generally quiet, always clean, with a helpful staff. Breakfast is included in the cost of your room. They do have a bit of a mosquito problem so bring some DEET. Recommended for budget travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
17
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Atitlan, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We booked a private room so that our stuff would be secure.

Returned to the room to find it unlocked. We overheard two other couples complaining of the same thing.

Another day, the cleaners had left our door and windows open but had departed to work elsewhere. I mentioned this to reception and they promised to secure our room. When I returned some time later, the room was as the cleaners had left it - windows wide open, door open and with all our things (and their master set of keys!) visible.

When I tried to bring up the hostel's poor security attitude with the man at reception he just smiled and said "ok". Not the least bit concerned or apologetic.

The rest of the hostel is dark and dingy. Our room was extremely noisy starting from about 5am.

Avoid this place. We only stayed here as Casa Armarilla across the road was full.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Lovely little hostel where breakfast is included in the price of the dorms. More affordable for you penny pinchers, dorms in high season were 9 usd per night, but were relatively cramped with little space to place your bags if the dorms are full. The breakfast is good and there is a lovely courtyard to sit outside and enjoy some sunshine in the quiet.

Pros:
-free breakfast
-cheap
-clean bathrooms and dorms
-taco shop located inside the hostel for 3 tacos for 10Q

Cons:
-overcharge for laundry services
-on the outskirts of the city, about a 15 minute walk to central plaza
-no outside liquor allowed in the hostel and they only serve beer

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed here 3 different times for a total of 16 nights. I tried other, more ‘popular’ hostels, but kept returning to Casa Jacaranda! Helpful staff. Reliable wifi. Inexpensive Mexican food and beers in the lobby. I liked that it was quiet and somewhat under-the-radar. Showers could be hotter.

Room Tip: The single private rooms in the front are tempting, but they can be noisy in the mornings due to act...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, PR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during both visits in Antigua and loved it! We stayed in a private room the first time and a dorm the second and both had extremely comfortable beds. The breakfast we found most filling and satisfying was the spinach and tomato omelet with fruit, beans, potatoes in a delicious rosemary and olive oil sauce, with coffee AND juice! Eating it out in their lovely backyard garden made it even better. There's also a cheap and delicious taco stand connected to the hotel that we ate at multiple times. Great value for Antigua. Also, the wifi here worked great and we were able to watch Netflix in our private room (room #1) the first stay. Overall, this felt like a great deal because we were in a safe, super clean and tranquillo place yet still within just a few minutes walking distance to the famous Antigua market!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked this hostel through hostel world in September of 2013 since we knew that Antigua would be a popular spot for New Years Eve. We paid a 10% deposit and were told our booking was confirmed. We showed up with the print-out of our confirmation (as we were told to do) and the guy at the front desk was incredibly unhelpful and pretty rude. He told us they had NO record of our booking (which basically means they lost it) and then told us 1) the problem was with hostel world and that we would need to contact them; and 2) that this had happened to someone else earlier that day! This was pretty infuriating since I have used hostel world before and not ended up in this situation, so I know that Jacaranda must have lost our reservation (though I am in the process of complaining with hostel world as well). Also - how did this happen to multiple people in one day??

Worst of all - the guy at the front desk basically told us that since it was New Years (though we arrived on the 30th) that everything in town would be booked and there wasn't much he could do. Since Jacaranda messed up our reservation, the least they could do was make a few phone calls, but he didn't seem to want to help. After walking around town, we eventually found a small hotel with a room and were able to stay in Antigua for New Years after all, but had we arrived on the 31st, I know we would have been completely out of luck. I'm still fuming at this establishment!

If you do end up booking here, be sure to double (triple?) check your reservation with the hotel directly!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel was conveniently located about 10 minutes from the main square, and breakfast was included in the very reasonable price of the room. We stayed in a full dorm and space was limited, however I never felt cramped and there was a secure area designated for any extra luggage. There was free Wi-Fi, however it was only available in the main entrance and living room. Despite this small inconvenience, the internet speed was great and there was no shortage of plugs for laptops. There was also a computer available to guests who did not bring their own.

There was only one shower for all of the dorm rooms, however I didn't experience any problems even when the hostel was at almost full-capacity. There were several bathrooms in the building, all of which were clean.

The staff at the front desk were able to book shuttles out of town, and they had a convenient laundry service that was the same price as everywhere else in town. I was also impressed with the food they serve in the lobby. It made for a great place to eat whenever we didn't feel like leaving the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda

Address: 1a. Calle Poniente, No. 37, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.