We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVED THIS HOTEL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D'Leyenda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added D'Leyenda Hotel to your Saves list
D'Leyenda Hotel
4 Avenida Norte # 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I LOVED THIS HOTEL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I should have written this review a couple of months ago. I stayed in Antigua for 3 weeks while studying spanish at one of the schools. I changed hotels several times for the first 2 weeks for reasons ranging from price, cleanliness, and safety. I was forced to stay an additional week after a volcano erupted and closed the airport. I was not expecting to stay an additional week and funds were very low. I stumbled upon this gem of hotel by accident and I must say, I am so glad I did. The hotel had only been open for several months. It is not a big hotel, consisting perhaps, of 10 or 15 rooms. However, it is a very nice hotel, quiet, safe and well worth the price. The owners, Lionel and his wife were very accommodating, I actually felt like I was part of the family. They kept asking if the breakfast was good and if I had any suggestions to make the hotel better. The entire staff was helpful and pleasant! They never made me feel like they didn't appreciate my busines. They are located in an excellent location literally right across from the central park, which is where you want to stay. In addition, they offer a delicious continental breakfast, turn down service, flat screen TV, a soft comfortable queen size mattress, hot water and even a blow dryer in the room (a blow dryer is very find to find in the hotels). The room I stayed in was small but comfortable, but I believe they have a few bigger rooms. I really wish I had found this hotel. I don't know what they charge normally, but I got a great deal! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    62
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
183
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Charming boutique hotel with meticulous attention to detail. Great service from an attentive staff that go above and beyond to meet one's needs. The hotel keeps in touch with the roots and looks of Antigua Guatemala (colonial style), yet it has a modern feel that makes it appealing and inviting. Compared to other hotels with similar services/accommodations, D'Leyenda Hotel offers very reasonable prices (you could call it a bargain). The location was perfect, just a few steps from the central park, a block away from many restaurants and bars, but still quiet and homely.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

This hotel was right at the main square/park in central Antigua. Felt very safe. Staff was extremely nice and speaks English which was a plus for a traveler with limited Spanish. Rooms were beautiful and clean. Give it a try!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san salvador
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

D ' Leyenda is a small, newly renovated hotel located just steps away from Antigua's central plaza-----the location can't be beat! We found the rooms to be comfortable, clean, and spacious while maintaining the colonial style Antigua is famous for. The personalized attention given by the hotel staff is first rate and made our visit all the more special. The rates are very reasonable and we were happy to find that parking is also included. I highly recommend D ' Leyenda and will definitely be visiting it again myself!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D'Leyenda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Leyenda Hotel

Address: 4 Avenida Norte # 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your Key to La Antigua Guatemala"Where mysticism and reality get together.D' Leyenda Hotel is a pleasant and tranquil hotel, which has prime location,in the center of town, steps from the Main Plaza. Its 6 rooms were designed in mind with details taken from Antigua's colonial architecture, equipped with comfortable and modern amenities. Our exclusive service will make the guest have the best time ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your D'Leyenda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Leyenda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.