We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly staff, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D'Leyenda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added D'Leyenda Hotel to your Saves list
D'Leyenda Hotel
4 Avenida Norte # 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“very friendly staff, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here with my family over New Years 2013, and it was a great experience. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were particularly nice. It is a very small hotel and feels almost like staying at a private home.

The staff hosted a small New Years Eve party on the rooftop with champagne for toasting and grapes and marshmallows - a local custom for making wishes for the new year.

We are travelling to Antigua again this year and will be staying at the D'Leyenda again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your beautiful words! Your opinion will help us improve our service and continue growing up as one of the best hotels.

It was a privilege for us to have the opportunity to meet you.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Best Regards,
D'Leyenda Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    56
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
170
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Spent a couple of days here on my honeymoon and could not have been happier. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and really could not do enough for us. The location is about a dozen steps from the main square and there are a couple of bars just next door. The view from the roof is utterly fantastic. We paid a little extra because it was our honeymoon and the extra extra touches from the staff were amazing. You will not be disappointed if you book here.

Room Tip: Get them to pick you up from the airport. Less hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your beautiful words! Your opinion will help us improve our service and continue growing up as one of the best hotels.

It was a privilege for us to have the opportunity to meet you here in Guatemala.


We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Best Regards,
D'Leyenda Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The D'Leyenda Hotel treated us very well. we enjoyed the fresh mandarin orange juice every morning and the coffee and water in the lobby all the time. The fresh Guatemalan coffee was enjoyable. We stayed in room 4, and it was small with not very good air flow. On the plus side, we did not have any trouble with noise from the streets or the bar next door. We felt very secure. I would have loved to have better air flow. If we kept the windows open to the courtyard, we lost all our privacy and would have heard all the noise from the street. The bed was very uncomfortable. It was too hard, and there were only very tiny pillows. There was no comfortable chair or sofa to sit on, either. It was very nice to have breakfast on the rooftop terrace with the view of the volcanoes. It would be nice to have a bit more variety at breakfast, though. The free Wi-Fi in the hotel was excellent to have. It made our stay more enjoyable. We really enjoyed the location of the hotel. It was easy to get to all of the activities we had planned. The staff was very nice and friendly and packed up breakfast for us to go, as we had to leave on our last day at 4 am to head to the airport in Guatemala City.

Room Tip: I think that room 4 or 3 would be good rooms. Room 4 is small, but it is away from the annoyances of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We appreciate your comment because as we have mentioned, it helps us continue growing up as one of the most popular hotels in La Antigua Guatemala. It was a pleasure to meet you!!

We will be looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
D'Leyenda Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We arrived early from Guatemala City and from the minute go you were made to feel unbelievably welcome. We were allowed to leave our bags as our room wasn't ready, to find they had put them in the room for us when we returned (still earlier than the advertised 3pm check in). In the evening they prepared the jacuzzi with beers and bath robes from which we could admire the view of the volcano on the roof terrace. On top of this, they prepared us a fantastic breakfast to go when we did early morning activities so totally missed by all accounts what would be a lovely breakfast on the roof terrace.
To sum up a lovely, clean, romantic little hotel in a great location where they bend over backwards to ensure you have a lovely stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
What a nice gesture of you was to send us such a beautiful message.

It was a privilege for us to have the opportunity to meet you here in Guatemala. We are also looking forward to seeing you again!

Let us tell you that you'll always be special guests for us all.

Best Regards,
D'Leyenda Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We arrived late at night and were immideately struck by the hospitality of the personnel and the cozyness of this boutique hotel. The next morning we were served tastey breakfast at the roof top terrace with view over the city and the magnificent volcano, which is a really good way to start the day! The great location near parque central made it easy to pop by the hotel during the day when we had to unload after shopping, rest from tour walking or take cover during short (but heavy) rainfalls.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
What a nice gesture of you was to send us such a beautiful message.

It was a privilege for us to have the opportunity to meet you here in Guatemala. We are also looking forward to seeing you again!

Let us tell you that you'll always be special guests for us all.

Best Regards,
D'Leyenda Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I really enjoy staying at D'leyenda hotel.

The whole hotel is a spotless "very clean," the staff was very nice and professional, I felt very welcome there.

I strongly recommend this hotel. And if I ever come back to visit I would stay at D'leyenda again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
What a nice gesture of you was to send us such a beautiful message.

It was a privilege for us to have the opportunity to meet you here in Guatemala. We are also looking forward to seeing you again!

Let us tell you that you'll always be special guests for us all.

Best Regards,
D'Leyenda Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard, ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My family of four spent 10 days at D'LEYENDA and we could not have been treated any better. They arranged a shuttle for us which was on time and comfortable. Upon arrival, they let us check in early and from then on, everything we needed or wanted was attended to. Breakfast every morning on the beautiful rooftop terrace was amazing. The fruit was fresh, coffee was good and they served these biscotti type cookies with the bread that were simply delicious. The staff also arranged day trips for us and each time the arrangements were perfect. The rooms were cleaned daily and were immaculate as were the entire grounds. They cleaned and dusted every day in every inch of the place. The patio downstairs was a nice shady place to beat the heat and surf the net or read a book. The staff asked us every day about our breakfasts and how and where we wanted them served, they brought us fresh coffee at any te we wanted it, and simply were amazing. More than that, they were gracious and friendly in doing so. Every time we thanked them, they said simply that they were there to serve. Simply put, best service we've ever had and cleanest little hotel ever. Thanks so much to Mariflor, Lidia, Victor, Roasario and Vilma, you guys are the best and we hope to come back some day soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Gerente at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Rice Family:

With all my heart I want to thank you on behalf of D’Leyenda Hotel staff for taking the time to write such a special review on TripAdvisor.

Definitely you are our reason to exist and, as you said, we are here to serve. We are glad you enjoyed your trip to Guatemala and that you made us part of it. We are convinced that guests like you are the ones who encourage us to give the best we can. We miss you and hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
D’Leyenda Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D'Leyenda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Leyenda Hotel

Address: 4 Avenida Norte # 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Your Key to La Antigua Guatemala”Where mysticism and reality get together.D' Leyenda Hotel is a pleasant and tranquil hotel, which has prime location,in the center of town, steps from the Main Plaza. Its 6 rooms were designed in mind with details taken from Antigua´s colonial architecture, equipped with comfortable and modern amenities. Our exclusive service will make the guest have the best time ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your D'Leyenda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Leyenda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.