We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D'Leyenda Hotel

Save Saved
You added D'Leyenda Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
D'Leyenda Hotel
4 Avenida Norte # 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 76 hotels in Antigua
haifa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

we stayed at D´Leyenda for a total of 4 nights at 3 different times. every time we came back it felt like we came back home.
rooms were lovely, very clean and comfortable. breakfast was great.
the location is perfect - right in the center of Antigua, and the hotel is very safe, which adds to the feeling of the stay.
and above all - the service of the hotel staff was unbelievable. they were extremely friendly, and helped us with a lot of things we needed, including making several calls for us, since our spanish is not that good....
We recommend it very much!!!!

Gili

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    48
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
161
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Classiest spot in town. Excellent service, super warm and friendly staff. Beautiful rooms with all the amenities - more channels on the cable TV than we could ever watch. Gorgeous view from rooftop breakfast/hot tub area. The most delicious coffee served all day in the courtyard. Very romantic. I'm not sure if it was the incense or the cedar wood furniture throughout, but the place smelled so lovely I didn't want to leave - super relaxing. Location is perfect - right next to the Parque Central/main plaza. This is THE spot to stay in Antigua.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Gerente at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment, we are very happy to hear from you and that make us to become better every day and we hope to have you here in a future, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totonicapán, Totonicapan, Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

cada vez cuando estoy en antigua yo quedo con el hotel D'Leyenda, es lo unico hotel para mi en antigua. El servicio es excellente, todo son limpa y calidad. Me siento parte de la familia, parte de d'leyenda. Esta muy bien localizado, centro de todos. Es un lugar de paz y tranquilidad. Cada mes me voy a de'leyenda.

This part can be in english. For those of you that are traveling from the united states or from europe to guatemala, the best place to stay is at the d'leyenda hotel. I am an american working and living in guatemala and i stumbled upon this hotel by accident, it is without a doubt the best place to stay in antigua, you must book here, you most certainly will not be dissapointed The rooms are impeccably furnished in a romantic/ modern setting with still staying true to spanish colonial heritage. the breakfeasts every morning are excellent and included with your visit, you can chose to eat on the rooftop where there is a breathtaking view of the cross and several of guatemala's famous volcanoes. This hotel is without a doubt the only place i will stay in antigua, when i walk through those iron gates i feel at home as if i have belonged there the entire time, the staff are truly exceptional. It is a small hotel but filled with peace, romance and tranquility. it is centrally located and a true gem in the middle of busy antigua. Being from New York and now living in Guatemala my standards are quite high, and at the D'leyenda hotel they are continuously met and exceeded every time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

After many trips to Antigua, was so happy to find this little jewel. Restored just two years ago, this little hotel is a real taste of Guatemala hospitality and comfort. The staff is top notch (everyone is taking English classes) and looking for ways to make your stay perfect. Great location and great security. I could have comfortably slept with my room unlocked. Booked it because I say my friend Jennifer Hartsel had recommended it. Thanks Jenn! It was perfect for Michelle & me. Great room, breakfast on the roof terrace, great staff. Book it if you can!

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked nice. We were in room 1 w/two queen beds, fireplace and sufficient room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLeyendaHotel, Gerente at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your comment, it is nice to read it because that makes us get better every day, to make you feel in your own home and we hope to have you back with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We strayed for 2 nights at "el Cadejo" room and it was amazing. The location is great, diagonal to the central park. We arrevied early ando our roon of course wasn´t ready, but they kept our luggage in a secure roon, so we could go for a walk en the meantime. When we arrived, they took our liggage out of where they had kept it and gave us the roon key, and it was little, yet spacious, with a lot of little details.
The staff is very sweet, they give a high quality service. The doors of the hotel colses al 9 pm, but if you want to stay out until later, there is no problem, just ring the bell and they will open.
The best part, breakfast in the rooftop, so romantic!!!!
If I return to Antigua I an goint to stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We came down for the weekend and had a great experience with this hotel.
They were flexible with our schedule which was awesome and why I give it the five stars. We stayed in room #6 which did not have as good ventilation as the other rooms because the "window" goes to their utility room and not the courtyard. I would recommend avoiding this room if you can. They gave us a portable air conditioner and the last night they set up a dehumidifier, which helped a lot. They were not as helpful with planning tours, trips, things to do, etc. as I had hoped (it was a very last minute trip and we had no idea what we were planning to do), but the hotel is so central that there were other places that helped us out.
Other than those very minor things, I will reiterate what you see in other reviews... Very nice, helpful staff, 24 hour reception (felt very safe), lovely little breakfast (fruit, bread, coffee, OJ), lovely terrace that made the whole stay worth it, packed a to-go breakfast for one of our early mornings, water bottles in the rooms, very centrally located, did not try the Jacuzzi but looked nice, straightforward about our bill (we paid in US$, I read one review where they had an issue with extra fees...) and to sum it up, we would definitely go back and stay with them.
Just remember there is a bar/restaurant next door (noise level decreased by 1030/11) and they have no local or international phones in the room (we had our smart phones and their free wifi worked pretty well for Skype, etc.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in Antigua only one night, and D'Leyenda was perfect for this. The hotel was small and intimate, with only six rooms, but well decorated and styled. The location is perfect - not even one block from central park, and next door to a set of nice bars/ restaurants that never got too loud. The lady at the front desk was very helpful with all of our questions-

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to D'Leyenda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Leyenda Hotel

Address: 4 Avenida Norte # 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Your Key to La Antigua Guatemala”Where mysticism and reality get together.D' Leyenda Hotel is a pleasant and tranquil hotel, which has prime location,in the center of town, steps from the Main Plaza. Its 6 rooms were designed in mind with details taken from Antigua´s colonial architecture, equipped with comfortable and modern amenities. Our exclusive service will make the guest have the best time ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your D'Leyenda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Leyenda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.