We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Peaceful and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cirilo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cirilo
Save
You added Hotel Cirilo to your Saves list
Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I won't go on at length repeating all the wonderful qualities of this hotel.In short, place is immaculately maintained, both gardens and hotel, very safe and very quiet, food is terrific and ladies who work in the kitchen are outstanding. I had a small health problem and they brewed me special tea and the manager order medicine which was delivered to us from the pharmacy. Can't beat that!
It is a short work to town, depending on where you are going. It is very loud in the center with weddings, parties, sounds echoing off the stone, fireworks, etc I am happy to walk an extra few minutes for tranquility. The only thing unsafe about the walk are the cobblestones. I always carry a small flashlight, no matter where I am visiting. Here, as night falls early it is an extra help.
As a small recommendation, I would concur with an earlier poster that more light in the bedroom would be welcome for reading a book, etc. We were in the one room without a full size window which made it a bit darker to begin with.
Wonderful establishment from top to bottom. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
152
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this glorious hotel in October. What a delight to step inside the closed gates and find this amazing hotel built around the ruins! Gardens were delightful- it was a patch of paradise. The rooms were thoughtfully designed, clean and comfortable.And the staff were so lovely- nothingh was too much trouble. We had coffee waiting for us before we left for the airport at 5am! Ricardo was the perfect host- there in the background if we needed anything- but otherwise left us alone.
We ate breakfast every morning- everything freshly prepared and simple.
We found this hotel on trip advisor- and were not disappointed. Guatemala is a long way from Australia so if we do not get back there- we certainly recommend it to others!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great- we broke our stay with a two day side trip to Lake Atitlan- so experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cirilo during October this year. We live in Costa Rica so we are used to the Central American norm. Cirilo exceeded all of our expectations. Food was good. Staff was friendly and helpful...even preparing a take-away breakfast for us at 4AM! Grounds and the hotel itself are beautiful. We always felt secure. Recommend 100%.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Cirilo. Built right into a ruin
the grounds are astonishing.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. ALl the staff are
friendly and helpful.

Twice we ate breakfast here. We had fruit with granola and
omelletes. The food was also very very good.

All around we couldn{t have asked for a better accomodation.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Hotel Cirilo. Ricardo and his staff are amazing and offer a very personalized service. We strongly recommend staying in this beautiful hotel. They arrange for every single detail and even prepare our lunches to climb the Acatenango volcano at 5am!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Hotel Cirilo. The hotel is well-designed and intimate - a welcoming oasis in Antigua. The level of service was very high and the hotel manager, Ricardo, was especially helpful. We were reluctant to leave at the end of our stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I can only add to the praise of the many reviewers who have had a happy stay at Hotel Cirilo. The reality is even better and more seducing than the photos. You feel like staying in a large country house smartly built into the ruins of an old chapel. Everything is impeccably kept from the rooms with working fireplaces to the lovely gardens. The Guatemaltecan breakfast is sumptuious and delicious and the price is reasonable. The hotel is in a quiet street, so that you are away from the noisy centre without beeing too far away. A short ride in a tuk tuk will bring you to all the sites and events lively and pitturesque Antigua has to offer. The best of all is the attentive staff who is always keen to help you in very way.

Room Tip: We stayed at room no. 4 with a twin bed facing the gardens, but every room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cirilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.