We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cirilo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cirilo
Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 73 hotels in Antigua
Terra Linda, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Antigua is beautiful and Hotel Cirilo is an exceptional value. Built into ruins, the property is straight out of Architectural Digest. It is a jaw dropper. Details like preparing me a special breakfast to-go because my flight was early in the morning before the restaurant opened make this property 5 star.
The pool was way to cold to swim in but it is so artfully done, we didn't even care. There was blaring music and fireworks in the middle of the night that disrupted our sleep. While the hotel is not at fault, it affected my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
129
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We just returned from five days in Antigua Guatemala and our stay at the Hotel Cirilo will be one we always remember. This place is VERY unique. We have been in many countries, but have never stayed in a ruined church before. We stayed in Room 6 and found it to be quiet, spacious and everything we were looking for. The management are all very accommodating, and even changed some money for us the day before we left, when we just needed a little (bank minimum was $100).
Food was great! The only drawback was the cobblestone streets are murder on your feet! Take hiking shoes.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 & 7 are at the end of the hall, but this place is not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Wonderful place, wonderful staff, Ricardo drove us in his own car to the town on the first night to eat. This was our honeymoon, we stayed for 3 nights before going to lake Atittlan and I most definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Cirilo, it's a very quiet, beautiful, aesthetic hotel. We enjoyed every minute during our stay. Staffs are very helpful with all of our request, including travel arrangement. By the way, the bed is very very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Integrated with the city ruins, the Cirilo is perfectly built with a beautiful garden, a heated pool and spacious, charming rooms. The staff is very friendly and breakfast is delicious. It is a little distant, though, a 15 minute walk to the main square, but definitely worth the experience! Great place to stay in Antigua!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as the final part of our honeymoon and it was the most amazing experience. The 2 managers are so so kind and go out of their way to help you! We left at 4:30AM to go to the airport and the manager had left sandwiches and water for us to take as breakfast. The breakfast is included and delicious and the rooms are great. We had one with a fire place which made it very romantic.
I could not recommend more highly to go to this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here in September 2011 whilst attending daily Spanish classes in town. Everything about this hotel is amazing. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and the rooms are spacious. The breakfasts are yummy and huge with a great choice including fresh fruit and banana bread, and I actually had a number of my dinners here too as the food was delicious. Ricardo and his staff really go out of their way to help. For example, I had an early morning pick-up for a day trip to the volcano, and the kitchen staff prepared me a packed breakfast to take with me. The walk into town is pleasant, and it's good to be away from the noise and chaos of the centre of town. I would highly recommend this hotel, and look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cirilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Cirilo to your Saves list