We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with very helpful staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Cirilo to your Saves list
Hotel Cirilo
Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Antigua
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with very helpful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Cirilo, it's a very quiet, beautiful, aesthetic hotel. We enjoyed every minute during our stay. Staffs are very helpful with all of our request, including travel arrangement. By the way, the bed is very very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    23
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
173
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Integrated with the city ruins, the Cirilo is perfectly built with a beautiful garden, a heated pool and spacious, charming rooms. The staff is very friendly and breakfast is delicious. It is a little distant, though, a 15 minute walk to the main square, but definitely worth the experience! Great place to stay in Antigua!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as the final part of our honeymoon and it was the most amazing experience. The 2 managers are so so kind and go out of their way to help you! We left at 4:30AM to go to the airport and the manager had left sandwiches and water for us to take as breakfast. The breakfast is included and delicious and the rooms are great. We had one with a fire place which made it very romantic.
I could not recommend more highly to go to this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here in September 2011 whilst attending daily Spanish classes in town. Everything about this hotel is amazing. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and the rooms are spacious. The breakfasts are yummy and huge with a great choice including fresh fruit and banana bread, and I actually had a number of my dinners here too as the food was delicious. Ricardo and his staff really go out of their way to help. For example, I had an early morning pick-up for a day trip to the volcano, and the kitchen staff prepared me a packed breakfast to take with me. The walk into town is pleasant, and it's good to be away from the noise and chaos of the centre of town. I would highly recommend this hotel, and look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This Hotel is really magic it is built on some ruins, the rooms are super comfortable. The excellent good taste of the owner to take care of every detail is seen every place in the Hotel. The garden is wonderful with a very original pool never seen in any other place between rocks and ruins. This is a great choice in Antigua if you are looking for tranquility and beauty! Stay at this place is a must in Antigua!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is even more beautiful than the pictures, and I highly recommend staying here. The ruins and gardens and pool are gorgeous, and the grounds offer a wonderful place to relax and read a good book. The design of the rest of the property is lovely too, and every little detail is well conceived -- our favorite decor detail was the dining room tables that recycle old Singer sewing machines on the bottom and have marble tops.

Our huge room was lovely--we stayed in room #7--and it's built into the walls of the ruins, and has high ceilings, 2 floors, a working fireplace, and a spacious bathroom. The bed was really comfortable too, and we slept exceptionally well all 4 nights. Highly recommend.

The breakfast was our favorite in Guatemala, and this says a lot since we enjoyed the breakfast at all the hotels during our Guatemala vacation. We loved the coffee so much that Ricardo showed us where we can buy the same one as gifts for friends to take home.

While we loved this hotel's decor, it's the service that truly differentiates the Cirilo from its peers. Ricardo, Lucky, and the rest of the Cirilo staff were gracious and thoughtful and always offered personalized service. They looked out for every little detail of our stay--marked every single Antigua coffee shop of note on a map--and helped us pick the best restaurant reservations and made sure our dog was allowed too. Ricardo even personally drove us into the city center for our dinners since it was high season and he suspected a taxi would be delayed.

While the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the city center, it's totally safe and pretty and you pass some of the best antigue stores along the way that you'd miss if you were staying within the old town. You can also take a tuk tuk for $2-3 and then it takes 5 minutes to get to parque central.

Definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Room #7 is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, SF, Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My bf and I stayed only one night. Wish we stayed longer. It was a lovely hotel with a BEAUTIFUL garden/pool. Staff/host was very attentive. They even packed us breakfast to eat in the shuttle ride leaving the hotel next morning. It's a bit of a walk from the center of town but the weather is always nice, so just enjoy the walk back!
~S, NYC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#10 of 77 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#3 of 77 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#12 of 77 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
0.5 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#8 of 77 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 77 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cirilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.