We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutelly great!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cirilo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cirilo
Save
You added Hotel Cirilo to your Saves list
Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“absolutelly great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Despite many beautiful hotels in Antigua, the first rank on Tripadvisor well deserved. A beatifull boutique hotel in Antigua, smartly fit into the ruins of old Spanish monastery. Very picturesque. Because it is not centrally located, you fell like having a rest there. It does not absolutelly mean that it is far from the centre, only 10 minutes of cosy walk.
Rooms are spacious and very comfortable (BEDS TOO - which is important).
The staff very helpful with the owner - Ricardo, being a great and helpful host.

Trully recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
171
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at Cirilo. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel is meticulously maintained, with clean rooms and beautifully landscaped grounds. The breakfast (included in room rate) was superb. Overall it was an extremely pleasant experience and good alternative to pricier hotels in the area (like Santo Domingo). The hotel is somewhat outside of the city center, but still within walking distance of all the key sights in Antigua.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Great place. Not really need to be commented, just see the pictures. Previous reviews do not lie. Faboulous atmoshpere, perfect service, friendly people, delicious and not expensive food in the restaurant.

Room Tip: There ar not many rooms in here, but if have possibility, avoid room 1 and 2, they are to close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our visit to Guatemala in July/August, The owner, Ricardo and his staff made the hotel a wonderful place. Ricardo especially, did everything to ensure our stay went without a hitch, even driving us to resturants in the evening.
The rooms are excellent, the new parts of the hotel have been blended in sympathetically with the old ruins keeping many features exposed even within the rooms. The breakfasts are great (ask to have it served on the roof). We had our 9 year old daughter with us and she loved it including the chilly but tasteful pool. All in all we didn't come accross a better hotel in Guatemala let alone Antigua.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We chose this hotel on trip advisor for our all girls weekend in Antigua based on the great reviews and weren't disappointed. There are so many hotels in Antigua that is overwhelming, but we're glad we chose it. The place is a gem hidden in the town of Antigua. Every single detail from this hotel is exquisite. Ricardo and his staff are most accomodating! We'll definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were fortunate to stay at Hotel Cirilo for three nights while we relaxed and explored Antigua at our leisure. The hotel and grounds look like a movie set, everything is perfectly placed and every detail has been tended to. I work for a luxury travel company and I have been accused of being a little judgemental when it comes to hotels and cruises. For the price Hotel Cirilo can't be beat... not only in Antigua but the whole of Guatemala.

We had breakfast every morning and the bread is a must, especially the banana bread. But what really made it for us was the staff. Everyone was warm, friendly, and just made you feel that you weren't just a customer. That kind of sincerety can't be faked. Ricardo, the owner, was especially personable and seemed really intent on doing what he could to ensure you enjoyed his city. He has great suggestions on where to dine... Hector's was just as good as he promised.

There are any number of choices of hotels in Antigua. We had originally considered staying at Hotel Santa Domingo before opting for Hotel Cirilo. In terms of value we made the right choice and will look to stay again if we are fortunate enough to return to Antigua. Stay... you will be impressed!

One last detail: We are a gay couple and while we travel quite a lot, I wasn't sure what to expect as we traveled through Guatemala. It's not something we consider when traveling in the US or Europe and we tend to stay away from "gay hotels" or "gay destination spots". We just want to be treated like any other couple on vacation. We were made to feel very welcome at Hotel Cirilo.

Room Tip: There are only seven rooms and they all looked nice. We had room number six, which we were very plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The title says it all. I cant say I have ever been in a hotel built on the ruins of a 1700s chapel before. The result is gorgeous and I was very pleased with our choice to stay here. The hotel is not cheap for Guatemala but I think the value is there. The service was impeccable. Breakfast was delicious and included in the price. Their laundry service was great. The hotel is a bit of a walk to central Antigua, maybe 10-15 minutes. I would recommend a cab if you are traveling alone, however the neighborhood is pretty good and I felt safe. If you have the nerve to visit Guatemala, you probably will feel the same. I wish there had been a computer for guests to use. I didnt see one, but I also didnt ask. I was busy eating, shopping and relaxing!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cirilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.