We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow internet speed, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real Antigua to your Saves list
Camino Real Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7a Calle Poniente 33B, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Slow internet speed, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a regional meeting all services, food and location are good, the only problem was the internet conection, the service is slow and if your tariff includ it you are allowed to connect one single equipment, if you need more the cost is crazy.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day.Thank you for your additional comment about internet speed, your comment already was sent to responsible department.

We hope to see you soon again in Camino Real Anigua.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    72
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
68
8
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to Antigua for a workshop and the hotel choose by organizers was the Camino Real. I was very impressed with the general ambience and specially for the food. The restaurant is top. My only complaint is with the WiFi signal, very poor and unexistent in rooms. Besides that, my kudos for all the rest.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Any additional comment will be welcome.

We hope to see you soon again in Camino Real Anigua.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014 via mobile

Fancy a cup of coffee in your room? $2.50 please. How about a small bottle of water in a country where tap water is not recommended?$2.50 please. Ok, I'll log on and check my email.....another $10 /day. All this on top for an already overpriced hotel is just not on. Compare with the Guatemala City Holiday Inn, owned by the same people where all this is free!
The pool is only a large jacuzzi and seating areas outside in the small enclosed gardens are very limited.
On the good side the rooms are relatively large,though dark, and the bathrooms modern.
The bar is small but has helpful staff and the dining area is ok.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had during your visit, please accept an apologize for this. We really appreciate guest’s feedback, your comment will help us to improve our service and give to our guest the best in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned already was notified to the responsible department.

We hope to see you soon again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northvale, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I was with a large group at the hotel for several days. the staff was always smiling and helpful. the breakfast was AMAZING!!! during our stay, the hotel had several events (weddings, meetings etc).. the hotel staff always took care of the hotels guests during these events. the hot tub was just want we all needed too!!!! it was perfect.
Antigua is an enchanting place.. the stone streets.. the walls and colors.. the people..
I had a room with an amazing bathroom too!!! the barreled brick ceiling was a work of art!
if you stay here, you will return for another visit!!!
trust me!

Room Tip: any room here will satisfy you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very glad to receive this kind of comments about our hotel; we really appreciate a positive stroke that pushes us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Antigua is a magical place, and the Camino Real adds to the magic and charm of this historic place. The property is beautifully landscaped, safe without making guests feel overwhelmed with precautions and security. The bedding is totally luxurious, the rooms authentic in architectural detail, with high ceilings and beautifully detailed furnishings. Service is excellent, and the exchange rate at the hotel desk (American dollars or Euros) is competitive. The concierge desk is very helpful with planning day trips, rental cars. There are no bad rooms, but some are smaller than others. I would splurge on the two story suite.
There is a beautiful hot tub, but no pool. The onsite restaurant is the only negative. The food is mediocre and high priced. There are much better places in town, all within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit.

We hope to see you soon in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 via mobile

The only reason I give this hotel a 4 star is the fact that there is a charge for wireless internet. I travel on business often and love to visit Antigua for a day or two! This is my hotel of choice really! Great location, price can vary but usually around 125 to 150 usd, especially if you get your Guatemala hotel to help with booking!
The grounds are very nice the buildings beautiful, rooms comfortable, and the bathrooms are great, spacious, this is a very nice hotel!
The service and staff are very good!
Breakfast ok, I usually eat out after!
Very quiet and relaxing hotel, and I do not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit. This is very helpful to receive guest’s feedback which helps us to improve.

We hope to see you soon in Camino Real Antigua.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I recently visited Camino Real Antigua for a biz meeting. The location is pretty good, just 5 minutes walking from the main square. The rooms are well refurnished and the atmosphere is super safe and relaxing. You can feel there is a great deal of attention to details and decoration in every corner.
I found the fact that Wi-Fi internet access was charged a little bit unappropriate for a hotel of this standard and price.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear guest,,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is a very important source of information to know our guests experience through their feedback, your comments will help us to improve the high service in each of your visit. Thank you so much for your additional comment about our internet service, we shared your comment with department in charge of it. Thank you for sharing your experience, each of your comments have been transferred to the appropriate department for immediate corrective action.

Again apologize on behalf of Camino Real Antigua staff for the inconvenience you experienced. We hope to see you soon in Camino Real Antigua.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Antigua

Address: 7a Calle Poniente 33B, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Business Hotel in Antigua
#16 Family Hotel in Antigua
#18 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy of a first class experience in a luxury hotel that offers comfort and elegance in the middle of a legendary city. It is located at only 5 blocks from the Main Plaza of La Antigua, near from the main historical monuments, plazas, artisans workshops and commercial centers as well as another interest sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camino Real Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Antigua Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.