We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, comfortable, clean, and friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real Antigua to your Saves list
Camino Real Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7a Calle Poniente 33B, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
HERSHEY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous, comfortable, clean, and friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in 15 rooms (large group). Each room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and beautiful! The water was filtered so we could drink from the tap without worrying about getting sick. The staff was SO kind and helpful, and most spoke English. We ate at the restaurant several times and enjoyed each meal.

Truly, no complaints. It was reasonably priced and we slept SO well there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Gerente at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Thank you so much for every additional comment.

We hope to see you soon again in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    72
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
68
8
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Rochelle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I usually stay in Guatemala city but for a change I went to Antigua. Very nice litle city to visit. Stay in Camino Real was perfect. Location walking distance to sights in city. Comfortable rooms, good Food

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I recently visited Antigua as part of a business conference - we occupied a large number of rooms in the hotel but since I was not part of the organising committee, I'll voice my personal opinion on Camino Real:
Location was good, within a short walk from the centre of Antigua.
Safety and security at the hotel was not an issue - as unfortunately it could be in Guatemala.
The room was well presented, comfortable, working internet, clean and offered everything a business traveller could need. Breakfast was plentiful.
We used their conference facilities, which was pretty good too.
Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.
My only regret was that I did not have enough time to visit the surrounding area and town.
Lovely place that I'd love to come back to in a personal capacity some time soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Thank you so much for your additional comment.

We hope to see you soon again in Camino Real Antigua.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel was beautiful, the grounds were very well kept. The bed was one of the best ever - we left there and bought a cushiony mattress pad like they had! The bathroom was lovely, large and well-furnished. We ate at the restaurants 3 times, and really enjoyed the food.

My main criticism is that I felt that every time I turned around, there was a charge for something. $2.75 for in-room coffee grounds. About that for a (small) bottle of water. $10 for internet. They had a very ample mini-bar and snacks, but prices were high. It did not make me feel well-cared-for.

Agree with other reviewers about women behind reception desk being quite cool. However, the porters brought guests a refreshment (a juice of some kind).

Overall, I'd love to come back here, but I'll have to bring my own water bottles and even coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Thank you for your additional comment about our prices, already was sent to the responsible department.

We hope to see you soon again in Westin Camino Real Guatemala.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed here last weekend and thought it was an amazing find. The rooms are really pretty and spacious and spotless. The folks who work here are really friendly and helpful. The restaurant is very pretty. I'm not a big fan of buffet dining, so I didn't bother with breakfasts. But they looked ok enough. The hotel has a very colonial feel to it and is well-situated in the town. It's close enough to the center of Antigua that it's an easy walk...well, perhaps not so easy if you're not used to broken cobblestone streets. But it's a very pretty and safe walk to the center. At Camino Real, you also get great value for your money. Rooms that look like Camino Real's in NYC would cost seven or eight times as much. I highly recommend Camino Real if you're visiting this beautiful old town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

We hope to see your soon in Camino Real Antigua.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is a few blocks from the center of town but very easy to get to. The grounds are stunning with the rooms facing different, fastidiously manicured, courtyard areas. We were geuinely impressed with the room which had two queen beds a sitting area and a pretty large bathroom. This is a luxurious, unique, boutique feeling hotel.

Other comments: There were always 3-4 female employees at the small reception area but they were not very welcoming or hospitable (actually came across as a little cold and disinterested) which was surprising given the quality of this hotel. The wi-fi was a little sporatic at times but we were a ways away from reception, so maybe a room closer to reception would have been better. The hot tub is more of a warm tub so daytime was better for a soak as the evenings get chilly. Lastly, the closet armoire light in our room didn't shut off so we had to put a towel over the door to get a dark black-out effect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Any additional comment will be welcome.

We hope to see you soon again in Camino Real Antigua.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

An absolute fantastic hotel, it has all you need; nice big rooms and clean environment. The hotel itself is wonderfully built and the attention to detail is amazing. The hotel has a large hot tub which is worth spending an evening in with a drink on the side. The only criticism I would have is that the Wi-fi should be made free.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room near the hot-tub. It is closer to the main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time filling this survey in, it is very important to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to improve every day. Any additional comment will be welcome.

We hope to see you soon again in Camino Real Antigua.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Antigua

Address: 7a Calle Poniente 33B, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Antigua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#15 Family Hotel in Antigua
#18 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy of a first class experience in a luxury hotel that offers comfort and elegance in the middle of a legendary city. It is located at only 5 blocks from the Main Plaza of La Antigua, near from the main historical monuments, plazas, artisans workshops and commercial centers as well as another interest sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camino Real Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Antigua Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.