We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for first visit to Antigua Guatemala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Antigua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real Antigua to your Saves list
Camino Real Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7a Calle Poniente 33B, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Antigua
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel for first visit to Antigua Guatemala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was our first time in Guatemala-- We were at this hotel as part of a wedding group. The price was so reasonable, we were a little concerned about what to expect. Not to worry! We arrived in the evening and were immediately enchanted by the beautiful candle-lit lobby, restaurant and gardens. The room was large with high vaulted ceilings and a little turret in the bath that let the sun or moonlight into the otherwise dark sleepy room. If you are not into partying at the hot tub, it is probably not a good idea to be near it , although the short walk to the lobby was nice. Like some other reviewers, we didn't especially like being charged for coffee and wifi (per device!) but hey, that happens in boring stateside hotels as well. Worth it to be able to check tripadvisor on my ipad for restaurants and activities. Breakfast buffet was great! It was very nice to feel totally safe on this first visit.

Room Tip: Not near the hot tub unless you will be using it. Rooms close to the lobby have a lot of traffic wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    101
    17
    5
    9
See reviews for
56
101
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I have spent five years living in Guatemala and we've been to this property probably 5 or 6 times in the past year for pleasure while attending social events in Antigua. Thus far, they've gotten it wrong every time. Once they accidentally booked our room at the Westin in Guatemala City. Another time, they lost our reservation. This weekend, we arrived with our reservation confirmation number and they couldn't find our reservation. Upon checkout, they passed us a bill for almost $100 more than what we owed because someone had charged 5 breakfasts to our room (Although we were two guests and had the receipt where we paid cash for our breakfast). It really is a shame because the property is very nice and the rooms are comfortable. Unfortunately, they should consider importing a labor force from another country that actually gets what it means to provide good customer service without so many mistakes. Save yourself the headache and book your reservation somewhere else even if it means you don't get your frequent stay miles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had in your visit, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned in your comment will be notify to the responsible department . Again thank you for taking time of writing this review of our hotel. This is very helpful to receive such comments which help us to get better every day.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I loved the hotel, I was kind of hoping for Guatemalan food at their restaurant buffet, but it wasn't. The reasons why I won't give 5 stars was, why charge for Wifi and coffee in the room? You also have to pay to use their Internet which is a small desk with a desktop outside of check in. Those things were the only things that threw me off about the hotel. It's about the little things.. Also I wish they had a pool. They say they have one, but it's just an oversized jacuzzi. Rooms are very comfortable and I loved the design. Wish you could lock the doors though. Showers are awesome too!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had in your visit, every detail you mentioned in your comment will be notify to responsible in order to give you in every visit the better service. Again thank you for taking time of writing this review of our hotel. This is very helpful to receive such comments which help us to get better every day.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This Hotel is a hidden jewel in the middle of this romantic old city! I was extremely impressed with the layout. They welcome you during check-in with a glass of champagne or juice of your choice! Superb commodities and service was impeccable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for such a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel beautiful, the beds amazing and the jacuzzi great! But I think the price is a little high for not even have internet for the guest we where surprised that we had to pay $10 just to send and important mail. And something esle was that the little bag of coffe in the room for the coffemaker was $3!! I do have 3 dolars, but is the first hotel I have been in that don't even have some cortesy coffe for the guest!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had in your visit, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned in your comment will be notify to the right department . Again thank you for taking time of writing this review of our hotel. This is very helpful to receive such comments which help us to get better every day.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

From the moment we checked-in the staff was very accommodating and pleasant. The grounds and gardens were well kept and in a very relaxing atmosphere. Although there was no pool; the hot tub for us was even better, clean, well kept and relaxing. We felt very safe through out our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends
The restaurant food along with the staff was excellent. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. We needed extra hangers and the light in the wardrobe was broken...one call and 10 minutes later all was fixed and we were accommodated.

Room Tip: buy your water at a local store, hotel prices for water is expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for such a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful property! The Camino Real Antigua is one of the newer hotels in Antigua but I loved the design and decor and landscaping in the different areas: Lobby , Restaurant, gardens and rooms. the beds are extremely comfortable, the bathroom has a lovely traditional Antigua style roofing that lets in natural light- I loved it! The service was superb! I hope to return with my family soon! Just a tip for the ladies: leave your heels at home- the city is better enjoyed on flats, even if you are there for work as I was.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for such amazing comment about us. We really appreciate guests experiences. It´s a pleasant received that information which help us to keep our high service standard.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#10 of 77 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
14.6 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#12 of 77 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#3 of 77 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#7 of 77 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#5 of 77 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Antigua

Address: 7a Calle Poniente 33B, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#8 Business Hotel in Antigua
#12 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#14 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy of a first class experience in a luxury hotel that offers comfort and elegance in the middle of a legendary city. It is located at only 5 blocks from the Main Plaza of La Antigua, near from the main historical monuments, plazas, artisans workshops and commercial centers as well as another interest sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Camino Real Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Antigua Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.