We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plush!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Antigua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real Antigua to your Saves list
Camino Real Antigua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7a Calle Poniente 33B, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Plush!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Wow, what a great hotel!!! What great beds!!! I was totally surprised by this property. One thing that was weird is that I had to pay for the coffee in my room. Isn't this where coffee comes from?!?!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for a such amazing comment about us.
It always a pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    87
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
40
85
10
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a whole week over Semana Santa conveniently located. Quite and spacious. Rooms in the the corners can be a bit dark. Friendly staff , high standard and feels safe with key required to get into complex and have to tap out as well. Only distraction was having kids in diapers in the jacuzzi, the pool man had to make a special trip

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel.
It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I use Camino Real for my tours in Antigua and Tikal and let me tell you that the attention that we get always is excellent, and the prices per room are fair Camino Real have so many things to offer, we use also another hotels and sometimes their prices are to expensive and the quality that we get is not good enough for the price that we pay. If you want to spend a few nights in Antigua or Tikal and have a wonderful experience stay in this place.

Carlos

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Really good hotel, really nice decor , friendly staff, a must

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for this great comment, It always a pleasant to receive such comments which help us to get better every day.

You always be welcome.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for a weekend getaway and the only word that comes to my mind to describe our experience is WONDERFUL!
From the moment you arrive you can feel a lot of peace because the place is very quiet and neat.

The hotel is not centrally located but it is on walking distance from everything.

When we arrived they had our room ready and attended our special requests, they gave us a refreshing welcome drink and where very friendly on the check in.

Our room was lovely, the bed was EXTREMELY comfortable (trust me, you’ll want to take the bed home with you), the place is very quiet and the bathroom beautiful, with all the amenities and toiletries; and, yes, they charge for bottled water and coffee, but you can buy whatever you need on one of the many stores/drugstores in the area and save money.

They don’t have a pool but the big Jacuzzi is a good option.

They have a small bar where they have very good drinks but few appetizers, I think they can add some more to their menu, but the bartender was extremely attentive and made us spend a very nice time.

We ordered our breakfast in the room, food was good but nothing special and prices a little expensive.

Last but not least, they have lots of parking with no extra charge.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Antigua, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit in our hotel.

It always a pleasant to receive such comments which help us to be a better hotel every day, it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great hotel only complain is no free wii fi is ok to charge for the water.but wi fii?

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel while on a business trip in Guatemala, but I would stay there again in a heartbeat for vacation.

First, the styling of the hotel makes you feel like you have stepped back in time to Colonial Guatemala with all the creature comforts of a first class hotel.
We stayed there for 5 days and were still commenting on how amazingly comfortable and beautiful the hotel was.

As mentioned, this was a business trip. The internet is not free, but was very fast. We were able to work as efficiently (and more comfortably) than we could at home.

The location was perfectly ideal: 3 minute tuk tuk ride to the center of town, 1 minute walk to the Rainbow Cafe (breakfast, just go there) and a 5-7 minute walk to the center of town. Being on the south side, the view of the volcano is incredible, especially from the restaurant patio! Very quite, not too much street noise as other hotels in the center of town.

FOOD: we were on a business trip, so we did have lunch a few times in the restaurant. I was feeling ill from some Seafood from a neighboring country and the chef was very careful to take it easy on the salt, butter, and oil for my vegetable soup. You cant beat that....

The beds were amazing.. i wanted to call the front desk and ask what brand they were so that I could buy one....

Hotel staff was exceptional- they coordinated our every desire; tuk tuk, drinks, room service, taxi, shuttle, excursion- dinner recommendations... we were king and queen of the hotel for a week.

I travel very often and ususally do not give incredibly detialed reviews, but this hotel deserves it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: get a room towards the back of the hotel, they are less likely to have street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Antigua

Address: 7a Calle Poniente 33B, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#7 Business Hotel in Antigua
#13 Family Hotel in Antigua
#17 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy of a first class experience in a luxury hotel that offers comfort and elegance in the middle of a legendary city. It is located at only 5 blocks from the Main Plaza of La Antigua, near from the main historical monuments, plazas, artisans workshops and commercial centers as well as another interest sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Camino Real Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Antigua Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.