We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Central America” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Juma Ocag

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Juma Ocag
Save
You added Posada Juma Ocag to your Saves list
Calzada de Santa Lucia 13, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best value in Central America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The Juma is a very small, well run place that is one of the very few that charges less than the tag on the back of the door. Many other places we stayed at charged as much or more than the central government allowed. this place does not have breakfast but at 160 Q it's the best value around and people were knocking down the door to get in. reservations are required. very friendly and helpful staff. I can't speak for the downstairs rooms, but the upstairs rooms were top notch for the price. The bathrooms were good, showers hot. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
28
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feldkirch, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

in juma ocag everything is perfectly clean , quiet and the rooms have neat bathrooms with hot showers. other features are free wifi, free morning-coffee, allday drinking-water, a nice terrace, but not of the kind with views. very good location right by the market and central.
the owners and oters in charge are very friendly and welcoming. There is also a laundry service available, which was rather slow though...after all, very recommendable for the 140-160Q p.room!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed 2 nights the week-end before the last of November 2012 .

Here are the good points :
central location between the 3rd and 4th street at only 4 blocks from the central park, on the other street side of the public market, quiet inside, very polite staff,free wireless internet, good security for the traveller and his/her luggage, comfortable bed, rather clean, good size rooms and last but not least a reasonable room price.

The hard to take points : no guest of the roomer is admitted past the reception area, the hot water is rather lukewarm,checkout time is at 11 a.m., the market vendors and clients start at 8 a.m. and can bother a late riser with their noise.

Room Tip: Get backrooms for more peacefulness .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We looked at a couple of other budget options and this was by far the best. 160 for a double is a good price in Antigua. It's extremely clean and with the little things budget hotels often lack- reading lights, clothes storage etc. Upstairs rooms allow in more natural light. We have been here for 5 days so far so it must be good!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stumbled upon this place from the outside, it's not in the Rough Guide or Lonely Planet so we were a bit cautious at first.The bathroom we saw downstairs wasn't what we were looking for, but the one upstairs was awesome! It's the best place we've stayed in in Central America, esp for the price we are paying. Super clean, very cute interior and decoration. There's free wifi and water as well. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Posada Juma Ocag is an 8-room family-run inn a few blocks from the Parque Central in Antigua. It is very clean, the rooms are charming, and the staff is extremely helpful. Hot water is available for tea/coffee in the mornings, purfied water is provided, and there is a fridge for guest use. Upstairs rooms are lighter and brighter; downstairs rooms are dark and can have a mildew smell. We stayed here 8 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Single rooms are Q120 (US $15.00).

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Centrally located, small room with cheap fittings, friendly staff, reasonable price. Good communication. Nice garden albeit small.
A fair place for a couple of days in Antigua.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Posada Juma Ocag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Juma Ocag

Address: Calzada de Santa Lucia 13, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Number of rooms: 66

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Juma Ocag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.