We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite small hotel but with regular size rooms !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Juma Ocag

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Juma Ocag
Save
You added Posada Juma Ocag to your Saves list
Calzada de Santa Lucia 13, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A quite small hotel but with regular size rooms !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed 2 nights the week-end before the last of November 2012 .

Here are the good points :
central location between the 3rd and 4th street at only 4 blocks from the central park, on the other street side of the public market, quiet inside, very polite staff,free wireless internet, good security for the traveller and his/her luggage, comfortable bed, rather clean, good size rooms and last but not least a reasonable room price.

The hard to take points : no guest of the roomer is admitted past the reception area, the hot water is rather lukewarm,checkout time is at 11 a.m., the market vendors and clients start at 8 a.m. and can bother a late riser with their noise.

Room Tip: Get backrooms for more peacefulness .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
28
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We looked at a couple of other budget options and this was by far the best. 160 for a double is a good price in Antigua. It's extremely clean and with the little things budget hotels often lack- reading lights, clothes storage etc. Upstairs rooms allow in more natural light. We have been here for 5 days so far so it must be good!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stumbled upon this place from the outside, it's not in the Rough Guide or Lonely Planet so we were a bit cautious at first.The bathroom we saw downstairs wasn't what we were looking for, but the one upstairs was awesome! It's the best place we've stayed in in Central America, esp for the price we are paying. Super clean, very cute interior and decoration. There's free wifi and water as well. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Posada Juma Ocag is an 8-room family-run inn a few blocks from the Parque Central in Antigua. It is very clean, the rooms are charming, and the staff is extremely helpful. Hot water is available for tea/coffee in the mornings, purfied water is provided, and there is a fridge for guest use. Upstairs rooms are lighter and brighter; downstairs rooms are dark and can have a mildew smell. We stayed here 8 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Single rooms are Q120 (US $15.00).

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Centrally located, small room with cheap fittings, friendly staff, reasonable price. Good communication. Nice garden albeit small.
A fair place for a couple of days in Antigua.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Quiet, comfortable, safe, opposite the market and a really good bakery, $18 for one, $22 for two. It has a small place upstairs to hang out.
The room has everything I look for in a budget hotel: Enough shelves in the bathroom and the bedroom, bed side lamps, a closet, a little table. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We ended up here for our first night in Guatemala. like other reviews say, it is clean, good value, kind staff. I'm sorry we didn't stay here again the next time we were in Antigua.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Posada Juma Ocag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Juma Ocag

Address: Calzada de Santa Lucia 13, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Number of rooms: 66

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Juma Ocag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.