We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal on a budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Juma Ocag

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Juma Ocag
Save
You added Posada Juma Ocag to your Saves list
Calzada de Santa Lucia 13, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best deal on a budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We looked at a couple of other budget options and this was by far the best. 160 for a double is a good price in Antigua. It's extremely clean and with the little things budget hotels often lack- reading lights, clothes storage etc. Upstairs rooms allow in more natural light. We have been here for 5 days so far so it must be good!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freewheelin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stumbled upon this place from the outside, it's not in the Rough Guide or Lonely Planet so we were a bit cautious at first.The bathroom we saw downstairs wasn't what we were looking for, but the one upstairs was awesome! It's the best place we've stayed in in Central America, esp for the price we are paying. Super clean, very cute interior and decoration. There's free wifi and water as well. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Posada Juma Ocag is an 8-room family-run inn a few blocks from the Parque Central in Antigua. It is very clean, the rooms are charming, and the staff is extremely helpful. Hot water is available for tea/coffee in the mornings, purfied water is provided, and there is a fridge for guest use. Upstairs rooms are lighter and brighter; downstairs rooms are dark and can have a mildew smell. We stayed here 8 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Single rooms are Q120 (US $15.00).

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Centrally located, small room with cheap fittings, friendly staff, reasonable price. Good communication. Nice garden albeit small.
A fair place for a couple of days in Antigua.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canerandagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Quiet, comfortable, safe, opposite the market and a really good bakery, $18 for one, $22 for two. It has a small place upstairs to hang out.
The room has everything I look for in a budget hotel: Enough shelves in the bathroom and the bedroom, bed side lamps, a closet, a little table. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Purplecat8104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We ended up here for our first night in Guatemala. like other reviews say, it is clean, good value, kind staff. I'm sorry we didn't stay here again the next time we were in Antigua.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenandTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Even though there were only a few reviews on TA, I decided to take a chance and book a 3 night stay with this hostel. At 160Q a night for a double room, it was an absolute steal! Based on the reviews, we were fully prepared for the lukewarm water, but to our surprise, the water was piping hot! The room was very basic but clean with plenty of storage space. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but at $20 a night, I wasn't about to complain! Wifi was also working perfectly during our stay. Safety is a big issue in Antigua especially in the evenings. Since the hotel is in a great location (right across from the markets) on a busy street, we didn't have to worry too much about being mugged etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cllo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 79 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#50 of 79 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#36 of 79 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#6 of 79 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
14.6 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#60 of 79 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#1 of 75 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Juma Ocag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Juma Ocag

Address: Calzada de Santa Lucia 13, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Number of rooms: 66

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing