We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical Gem in the heart of Antigua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Juma Ocag

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Juma Ocag
Save
You added Posada Juma Ocag to your Saves list
Calzada de Santa Lucia 13, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Economical Gem in the heart of Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Posada Juma Ocag is an 8-room family-run inn a few blocks from the Parque Central in Antigua. It is very clean, the rooms are charming, and the staff is extremely helpful. Hot water is available for tea/coffee in the mornings, purfied water is provided, and there is a fridge for guest use. Upstairs rooms are lighter and brighter; downstairs rooms are dark and can have a mildew smell. We stayed here 8 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Single rooms are Q120 (US $15.00).

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
28
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Centrally located, small room with cheap fittings, friendly staff, reasonable price. Good communication. Nice garden albeit small.
A fair place for a couple of days in Antigua.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Quiet, comfortable, safe, opposite the market and a really good bakery, $18 for one, $22 for two. It has a small place upstairs to hang out.
The room has everything I look for in a budget hotel: Enough shelves in the bathroom and the bedroom, bed side lamps, a closet, a little table. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We ended up here for our first night in Guatemala. like other reviews say, it is clean, good value, kind staff. I'm sorry we didn't stay here again the next time we were in Antigua.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Even though there were only a few reviews on TA, I decided to take a chance and book a 3 night stay with this hostel. At 160Q a night for a double room, it was an absolute steal! Based on the reviews, we were fully prepared for the lukewarm water, but to our surprise, the water was piping hot! The room was very basic but clean with plenty of storage space. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but at $20 a night, I wasn't about to complain! Wifi was also working perfectly during our stay. Safety is a big issue in Antigua especially in the evenings. Since the hotel is in a great location (right across from the markets) on a busy street, we didn't have to worry too much about being mugged etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed her for 3 nights using it as a base for exploring Antigua and its surrounds. The Hotel is practically inconspicuous from the outside but inside, its dozen or so rooms are arranged on two floors opposite a tiny but well maintained and very pretty internal garden. There is also a small rooftop seating area on the upper floor. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable with private bath/shower - though you have to know how to work the sometimes erratic shower-head heaters common in these parts. The rooms also have some basic furniture in which to stow your luggage but have no A/C. They have no TV either but its unlikely you will miss this as Antigua has so much to offer. There is no restaurant or eating facilities but free coffee is available up to 9 am in the morning on top of a fridge where you can store any cold drinks or food on an honour basis.
The hotel has a geat location at the the Western end (bottom) of the town, directly across from a huge local market with the bus terminus and a large indoor craft market also nearby. There are several shops, restaurants, bars and internet cates in the immediate vicinity and its only three blocks away from the Parque Central, the towns main tourist hub.
Security is excellent with access only via ringing the inner door-bell. After 10 pm the outside door is closed but a night porter is on call 24/7 and very responsive. The staff were friendly and, though they spoke very little english, they did their best to help me with my spanglish questions. The hotel also has a laundry service and free wif-fi, though I was unable to avail of either.
If you are looking for luxurious pampering, then look elsewhere. But if you want a clean, comfortable, secure and quiet hotel, with a great location, this would be hard to beat and especially when you take account of the value: I got a double room on my own for about eur11 per night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I wanted to stay 2 nights and stayed 5 due to the great atmosphere of this hostal.It is absolutely safe, the location couldn't be more central, the rooms are clean and spacious and mostly there is hot and cold water.There is even free wi-fi and this for the price of 160Q only! the staff are helpful and informative and there is a nice little terrace on the last floor , if you want to relax after a long walk through the town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are a little airier
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Juma Ocag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Juma Ocag

Address: Calzada de Santa Lucia 13, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Number of rooms: 66

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Juma Ocag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.