We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner in a secret garden setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sabe Rico

Sabe Rico
6A Avenida Sur #7, Antigua 03006, Guatemala
7832-0648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 239 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner in a secret garden setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We went here for dinner one night though weren't sure we were in the right place as the front is a deli. Out back it opens up to an beautiful garden setting with tables in their own private secluded settling, almost mini cabanas - incredibly cute and unique, even in the rain (you have a roof and are dry).
Service was good when we were there, a variety of staff ensuring we were always ok. Wine was great and the food really tasty and fresh - I had the lamb casserole and it was great!
We left without having desserts but the cakes in the deli were so tempting we grabbed some for take our on our way out and weren't disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    73
    14
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“SO good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Amazing mix of traditional and non-traditional. Also plenty of gluten free options, both in the restaurant (gluten free meals) and for sale in the shop in front (gluten free granola and cookies). The Hummus & sundried tomato sandwich -- served on black tortillas (to make it gluten free) -- was fabulous. The drizzle balsamic vinegar over their potatoes, which is completely delicious. Try their chocolates, too! Everything is incredibly good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickwick Dam, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprise Surprise Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I found this restaurant quite by accident. I noticed the fresh fruit and veggies in the door way and the whimsical flowers planted in a pair of rubber boots. When i entered i was so taken with all the items they sell to cook with. They have a nice assortment of products from all over the world. It was only on my third trip there that i discovered the restaurant. It was amazing. The food was wonderful and the salads were fresh and obviously cleaned very well as i did not get an upset stomach. You must be careful when visiting foreign countries(i am from USA ) in regard to eating fresh veggies but at this restaurant it is safe. I took some friends one evening and we found the nicest surprise at the back of the restaurant. There are beautiful gardens with private tables hidden under a trellis and filled with flowers with wonderful aromas from the flowers. During the evening the pathway is lite by candels and has so much ambiance. This is truly a magical lace at night. It is cozy for a date with that special someone or you can have delightful evening with family and friends. The food is always good and the service is outstanding.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome healthy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The food is delicious and drinks are delicious and healthy, the place is very peaceful and full of open spaces and pergolas to chill while listening a decent ambiance music.

The only downside is that the food is a bit pricey (but definitely worth it) and the place is so big that you might have to wait a while for a waiter to attend you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The place is great and the atmosphere but the service is terrible!!! This is the second and last time I eat here, 1 hour 15 minutes for service is really poor! Plus the food is not worth the time.

I do recommend the deli but please dont visit the restaurant is not worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabe Rico also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Sabe Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabe Rico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.