We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & staff with a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sky

Cafe Sky
1A Avenida Sur #15, Antigua, Guatemala
7832 7300
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 239 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Café Sky is THE place to be at dusk in Antigua. Climb the tight winding staircase to the upper terrace and you can watch the sun go down over the town with a 360 degree view of the surrounding mountains and volcanoes. The bar underneath, with a covered roof but open sides, is also a nice place to relax with very comfortable seats, subtle lighting and a view towards Iglesia San Francisco and Volcan de Agua. The staff are attentive and there is an extensive menu (including all-day breakfast). They also have possibly the best cocktail drinks in town.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food & staff with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We went to Cafe Sky and had eggs ranchero and poached
eggs on a bed of spinach. They were so good we returned
for dinner.

For dinner we had the shish-kabab with shrimp and a tenderlion
steak. They too were excellent. The staff after just one visit knew
us by name and were friendly, attentive and helpful.

We went to the terrace just for a night cap and it was a great way
to end our day.

Prices are very good as the plates are very very large and the food
was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    72
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed Cafe Sky!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

From the mayan theme on the main floor to the terrace views
from the terrace we felt at home as soon as we walked in.

The menu was beyond what we expected. Sure, they have
the pastas and mexican fare but we were surprised at the
entree selections. I had the filete mignon and it was spectacular!
From the mushroom gravy to the entire presentation it was beyond
what I expected. The steak was tender and cooked perfectly.

My wife had the chicken cordon bleu and could not finish all of
it. The plates are quite large making for great value all around.

Service was helpful and friendly. The wine selction was limited
but still gave us a good selection to accompany our meal.

This is a must visit!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular view!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The top floor itself is worth visiting!!!
A perfect spot for a sunset drink with a fantastic overview of the city that very few places can offer in Antigua without having to leave the city!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We returned to Cafe Sky again as it
is a place we can count on for great food and
service.

When we are in a large group we often share
their nachos or platter for 4. It satisfies
all of us when in a group.

We also enjoy dining for two and then our favorites are the
steaks. They have three to choose from and the come with all
the side dishes you could want.

Service is always friendly and the prices are great value as the
plates are huge.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athabasca, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Loved loved loved this place! The service was incredible. My boyfriend and I stayed there last spring and we felt so welcome. The manager made many arrangements for us, helped us book buses and tickets for our next leg of the journey, let us keep our bags in the room for free the day we checked out (bus wasn't leaving till that night). We even used the shower and he was totally chill. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a clean, chill place to stay while in Antigua.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sky also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cafe Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.