We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic a hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Parque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa del Parque to your Saves list
Hotel Casa del Parque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4th Ave Norte # 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Romantic a hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

My boyfriend after haveing taken care of business in southern Guatemala surprised me with a Romantic Birthday gift of a trip too Antigua. Our first evening we stayed at an exclusive very exspensive Hotel ,unfortunately it was guite noisy as well as a bit too busy for me.So next day,off to find the right place!! Magically our steps led us too the doors of Casa De Parque. We took roomover the pool, it was perfect! It is a very quiet (during the heat of the days) when I love to swim and sunbathe. And much more intimate with spectacular views.Super hot showers,.The linen smells so good and the blankets were super soft as lambs wool! In the evening we had a bottle of wine and explored the upstair veranda incredible, witnessed the volcanoe erupting under the evening sky.We had breakfast in bed delicious huevos with ranchero sauce ect... Oh , yes coffe is sooo good I drank cups all day long.I loved this place and want to come here for a longer stay to explore antigua and go to plces in the mts.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    51
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
47
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
panama city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

So the stay started well. It is a nice hotel (for the money) decent pool etc. The last day left a bad taste in my mouth and I wont stay here again. At 7am I was awoken to the sounds of a group of people hammering the roof. It was the building next door but it sounded like it was takening place on top of my head. I asked the front desk guy what he could do. He looked at me with the most vacent of eyes and shrugged his shoulders. Here are some ideas if you want to run a hotel. Maybe go ove rthere and ask them to wait till 10am. Or maybe give the guest a free 5 dollar breakfast. But alas they couldnt care less. If you want to be assured of a nice quiet stay dont stay here. If you want to be treated with a little respect as a paying costumer. Dont stay here

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Casa del Parque, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
I agree with this guest saying that the hotel is a good value, but then he gives a poor review based on something completely out of the hotels control. He was woken up at 7am by construction noise from the property next door. The hotel receptionist, along with the guest, went to ask the workers next door if they could stop and wait until 9am, but the workers would not and said they had to do the work. We could not do anything else since we do not own that property and have no control of it, but the guest did not understand this and gave the hotel a bad review. We tried making it right with the guest by giving him a discount, but it obviously was not enough in his eyes. This guest stayed in Hotel Casa del Parque for 4 nights at $80 per night (Jan 6th-10th), which was a $15 per night discount because of the problem. So, the hotel did all in its power to resolve the situation and gave them a $60 discount for a problem that we had no control of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We have been travelling to Guatemala for over 22 years and we always spend time in Antigua. This year we chose to stay for the first time at the Hotel Casa del Parque because it has a pool.

1. Things got off to a bad start when the private transport we arranged in advance with the hotel was an hour late picking us up at the airport. We had to borrow a mobile phone from a stranger and call the hotel to see if anyone was actually coming to pick us up. No one ever apologised for our inconvenience.
2. Then when we arrived and were shown our room, we asked for more lighting as the room was so dark you could not see what you were doing. On the third day of our stay different light bulbs were put in the ceiling light. This made little difference to the lighting level of the room. I needed to do some work during our four night stay but this proved impossibe as our room was so dark.
3. Also, there was no remote control for the TV. When we asked about this we were told that the remote for the TV was not working and so they removed it from the room. It was never replaced during our stay. As it was so dark in the room and there was no remote control, it was very difficult to change the channels on the TV.
4. A football team from Honduras was staying at the hotel during our stay. They were very loud and thoughtless. When we brought this up with the staff at the reception desk, they shrugged their shoulders and did nothing. On our last night of our stay, the football team arrived back at the hotel at 2:00 in the morning, laughing, shouting and running up and down the halls. They were staying in the room above us and next to us. As there was no telephone in our room it was not possible to call the reception to make a compaint about the noise. When we complained the next morning, the staff acted like they did not know what we were talking about.

Several times during our stay we asked the staff at the reception desk if we could speak with the manager. Once were told that the manager has been told about our complaints, but we were never contacted and nothing was ever done about the problems. If someone from the hotel had at least apologized for the problems, let alone resolved them, it would have shown some respect for us as paying guests.

There are many hotels in Antigua and so there is no reason to put up with such bad service at the Hotel Casa del Parque. At the end of our two week trip to Guatemala we returned to Antigua and stayed at the Porta Hotel Antigua. While this is a more expensive hotel, it was an absolute pleasure to stay in a hotel where guests are valued.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Casa del Parque, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Hotel Casa del Parque is a beautiful small hotel with a nice pool and very close to the Parque Central. We do apologize again that this guest did not enjoy their stay. We did apologize to her many times during her 4 night stay. We out source our private pickups and sometimes there are traffic problems in Guatemala City (a city of 6.5 million people) which causes the drivers to run a little late. We did apologize for this, even though it was another company outside of the control of the hotel.

We have never had any complaints about lighting in the rooms because all rooms get lots of natural light, have a cieling chandeliar with 9 lights of 40 watts each, a night stand light of 40 watts on each side of every bed, etc. Room #5, that she was in, even has a large skylight in the bathroom, that lets in lots of natural light. This room also has a large window (5 feet wide by 4 feet tall) that lets light in from the garden in front of the room. This room also has a small corner fireplace. So, it is a very nice room for the $80 per night price her and her husband paid. We did change the bulbs in her room to larger wattage bulbs, which would be too much light for most people, but she just was not going to be pleased, not even with large spot lights.

To the hotels fault, we did have 13 double rooms filled with 26 soccer players, the Honduran national team, here playing in a Central American tournament. Some of them were loud and we did our best to ask them to be queit and respect other guest. Most of them did quiet down, but I guess it is hard to be silent after winning a big tournament game. Then, the last guest in this room took the TV remote control. We tried a universal remote, but could not get it to accept the codes. So, the next day we bought another universal control that worked.

This guest did not have a good stay, but we did many additional changes to try to accommodate, even going to Guatemala City (1 hr drive) and buying new candle style light bulbs in a higher wattage to put in the chandelair. We did apologize for our mistakes, and for the others, but she the type of person that was just not going to be happy with anything we tried to do. So, we could only apologized again and we hope she has a better stay on her next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Large, pretty room. Hotel is close to the park/plaza. When I opened the door to my room, I had a volcano view.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Unfortunately, my otherwise positive opinion of Casa del Parque was ruined when I found that their 'safes' were not really safe. Having been warned of hotel theft by other travelers, we decided to store our valuables in the hotel lock boxes located at the front desk. On checkout, we grabbed our cameras, wallets, i-phones, passports, etc., and boarded a bus to our next stop. Sadly, I didn't inventory everything in my wallet before leaving... and only found that I'd been relieved of my hidden stash of $500 the next day. Clever thief -- didn't take anything too conspicuous so we wouldn't realize we had been robbed until too late. All signs point to hotel staff taking the $$ as no one else had the key to the boxes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Casa del Parque, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
I am very sorry this guest lost money and even more sorry that they feel the hotel is responsible. I can assure any guest that the hotel employees did not take anything from this guest lock box. These boxes are very secure and there is only one key for each box. This is the key that is given to the guest when they request a lock box. We only have one key for the security of the guest. This is why we ask for a Q50 key deposit, because if the guest loses this only key, we have to break the lock or call a lock smith, to re-open their box. We also have a large sign above the lock boxes telling all guest that the hotel is not responsible for their items and that they have the only key and they are responsible for safe guarding their key. Our hotel has never had any problem like this before, and I can assure future guest of no problems. Again, I am very sorry for this person losing their money, but the hotel had no part in this mishap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Location and small size are the big advantages to Hotel Casa del Parque. It is very close to the Central Square. There is a large variety of room types, which are nicely situated around two attractive courtyards. Breakfast is available on a terrace overlooking the pool; food quality was good not great. Noise can be an issue, especially for rooms at the front of the hotel, along the street. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We needed to find a hotel with reliable internet connection that was not hideously expensive.

Casa del Parque fit the bill beautifully. Gorgeous rooms, very pleasant staff, good breakfast. Highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa del Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Parque

Address: 4th Ave Norte # 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 4-star hotel, with 5-star service, in the beautiful colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, only a few steps from central park in a very safe and tranquil location, which ensures your stay will be comfortable and enjoyable. Close to all the historical sites. We offer 15 rooms w/bath, cable TV, free fast WI-FI & free internet computer for guest use, breakfast buffet offered, heated swimming pool, sauna, travel agency, travel services & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Casa del Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Parque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.