We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Antigua's city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Antigua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Antigua to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Antigua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3rd Calle Poniente # 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best choice in Antigua's city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Casa Antigua's courtyard and rooms are lovely. It might be a bit expensive compared to other hotels in the area, but the service, rooms and breakfast quality is definitely superior. We were unlucky enough to stay in the rooms at the back where during the weekends it is impossible to sleep because of the loud noise coming from the disco-bar right next to it. At the reception, they told us they were trying to do something about it. Besides that annoying detail, the stay was perfect. Breakfast (buffet) is not included in the price, but I highly recommend it!! I also recommend to enjoy a beer in one of their beautiful terraces. Bonus: the store right next to the hotel has high-quality local products (direct access from the hotel's courtyard).
We stayed in 4 different hotels in Antigua during our trip (some belonging to the same owner) and this was undoubtedly the best choice.

Room Tip: During the weekends, especially if you want to rest, do not choose the rooms at the back since they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    81
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
61
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I've stayed in a few properties around Antigua and this is truly a gem. Lovely traditional gardens/courtyards and an incredibly accommodating and hospitable bilingual staff. Paid for 2 twin beds and were upgraded to a 3 bed room at no cost. Very central but enough off the main road so you do not get the noise from Parque Central. They offer a private driving service to the airport for 37USD (1-3 people) and a public shuttle for 9USD pp.
WiFi throughout and a nice boutique for last minute gifts. I will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I LOVE this place. They have a few sister hotels, but this is the one I love most because of the fantastic staff. Never had a place make me feel so welcome and go out of their way, way out of their way to make me safe and help me with a problem I had. Thanks everyone, and I will be a guest with you again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hotel Casa Antigua is just ‘around the corner from the Cathedral and the Parque Central (Main Square) and is located in a typical Antiguan courtyard property which has been nicely renovated. A secure (paid) car park is approx two blocks down the road so we didn’t have to worry about our rental 4X4 SUV. Rooms are on the ground floor but there is access to a roof terrace which provides great views over Antigua. The room which we had was smallish (with 1 double bed and 1 single bed) but there are even much smaller units. Although the sanitary ware is not the latest – the bathroom was clean and comfortable with good water pressure. Internet access is available in the courtyard only (not in the room). The staff provided excellent service and was all conversant in English, very helpful and hospitable indeed. We are fortunate enough to have traveled extensively and have had good experiences in old but renovated properties and service in Guatemala. I can safely say that overall experience and service level at Hotel Casa Antigua is excellent.

Room Tip: Request for a Three person room (1 double bed and 1 single bed) even if you stay with two as there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We are a male gay couple from Norway that stayed with three other family members at the hotel for two nights in November 2012. No problems at all. It was nice, cozy, clean, safe and perfectly located, rich breakfast in the nice well kept garden was a plus, calm, friendly and helpful staff. Wifi-connection ok. The hotel and the rooms with the beautiful and special colonial atmosphere that is so special for Antigua. No problems using your credit card.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location is great. The room is freezing at night. The interior is somewhat disappointing given the beautiful exterior. The bathroom definitely needs some upgrading work. Make sure you pay with local currency. They have bad exchange rate for dollars and significant surcharge if you use credit card.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Address: 3rd Calle Poniente # 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical property in the majestic colonial city of Antigua Guatemala, only a 2 minute walk from central park in a very safe and tranquil location, large comfy rooms filled with many priceless antiques. We offer all private rooms w/bath, 24hr hot water, cable TV, free fast WI-FI & free internet computer for guest use, breakfast buffet is offered, travel agency & travel services, laundry service, bag storage & a helpful bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.