We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Hostal Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Hostal Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
El Hostal Bed and Breakfast
1ra. Avenida Sur No.8, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value, great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is the only hostel I stayed at while in Antigua, but compared to other hostels around Guatemala this was perfect. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are clean with hot water, the breakfast options are amazing. There is also a locker for every bed so you will be able to lock up your stuff (bring your own padlock). It is helpful if you know Spanish because many of the staff only speak Spanish. I would highly recommend this hostel, it was a real treat after staying at a terrible one in Flores.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    32
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
36
51
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I started our backpacking trip in Antigua and El Hostal came highly recommended to us from a friend who lived here. We tried to book it 2 weeks before we came for a private room and it was booked solid. We were lucky enough to spend one night here and wished we could have stayed here the entire time we were in Guatemala. It is definitely a clean, friendly place with excellent staff who are always willing to help. My advice would be to book early, especially if you are looking for a private room. We stayed in a few other places in Antigua, but this one was definitely the best, and very reasonable for backpackers!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed here for an entire month and loved every minute of it. The staff is great and will go beyond to please their guests. Clean rooms, clean restrooms and delicious to-order-breakfast! Great location too!! The only downside is the loud bar (Cafe No Se) across the street, but hey, if the noise keeps you up walk across the street and join it!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms located next to the street (noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown Ky.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I do belive this is the best place to stay in Antigua. First the lady name Conchie made you feel like home . The rooms are so confortable and VERY CLEAN. The, Bright court yard was so nice to relax also I have stayed in many hostals but ido belive this ttops all.And it is only one block yo center of town .And it sleeps so well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Nice environment, clean and good breakfast included. More expensive than other hostels but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay. My room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable.
The free breakfast is fantastic. It is located only a few blocks from the center of town and close to many clubs and restaurants. The owners are just wonderful people who helped us with everything they could, including travel and lodgings at Lake Atitlan. The communal dinner they serve each Monday night was more like a family gathering than a dinner out. Can't imagine a better stay than what I had

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the world
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

The owners Gabi and Clay are very friendly guys and will try and accommodate you where they can. This place has an excellent open courtyard where one can enjoy a quiet extensive free breakfast menu in the mornings. I have been on various occasions to Antigua and what i really like about this place, which is in the price range of "cheaper hostels" hard to come across, are the real hot showers without electrical wiring. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Across the street you will find the bar to be In Antigua, called cafe No Se.
We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Hostal Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostal Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1ra. Avenida Sur No.8, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Hostal Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hostal Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hostal Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.