We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet little restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hector's Bistro

Hector's Bistro
1ra. Calle Poniente No. 9A | Besides La Merced church and around the corner from the famous Arch, Antigua, Guatemala (Formerly Hector's / H Bistro)
+502 7832 9867
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 239 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Open for lunch and dinner. Perfect for couples, small groups and special occasions. Cozy ambiance, great music and incredible food. .
mercerville
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Sweet little restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hector's is very small but it is more than worth the trip. The food is prepared in the kitchen right in front of you. The staff did everything they could to accomodate us on a busy Valentine's night. I cannot say enough about how delicious everything was. I highly recommend eating there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    153
    43
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“JUST PLAIN GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

FOOD was very good / They know how to treat folks so they will returned----------------------------------- I WILL

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Must-Try Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hector's is a small restaurant with really big food & service. I stopped by for lunch & had the biggest & best salad I have ever eaten at any restaurant anywhere in the world! The wine was excellent & the price was reasonable. All that & a nice chat with owner, Hector, who is very personable. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

good food but very few tables and service very slow/ as the kitchen seemed only to be able to cope with one order at a time

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“What's all the hype...Oh, I get it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

When I travel, I want to experience the best that each city has to offer. I am so glad that I chose to visit Hector's on my trip to Antigua. The food was incredible, the atmosphere was fun, and I would go tonight if I was in Antigua.
The food was perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection. The environment was captivating. I felt as though I had landed in a great bistro in Paris.
We ate at other highly acclaimed restaurants in Guatemala (Welten, Casa Santo Domingo, Jake's, Hotel Atitlan) and Hector's was so far superior. Go and enjoy yourself...you won't regret it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hector's Bistro also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Hector's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hector's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.