We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Antigua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hector's Bistro

Hector's Bistro
1ra. Calle Poniente No. 9A | Besides La Merced church and around the corner from the famous Arch, Antigua, Guatemala (Formerly Hector's / H Bistro)
+502 7832 9867
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 239 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Open for lunch and dinner. Perfect for couples, small groups and special occasions. Cozy ambiance, great music and incredible food. .
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I have a hotel on Lago Atitlan, and every chance we get we come into Antigua for a little piece of heaven. Everything on Hector's menu is to die for - personal favourites are the beef bourguignon, and the slow roasted tomatoes. If you are in Antigua, you haven't had the best until you have eaten at Hectors.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    153
    43
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hector's Does It Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I went to Hector's again last week, this time with very picky friends who couldn't believe the hype I was giving the place. They were excited about an exciting meal, but also a little skeptical. Their comment afterwards: "You didn't praise the place enough." They loved the service, the ambience, the wine, and above all the food. Again and again I saw these faces saying in effect, "I cannot believe I am tasting what I think I am tasting!" They didn't care about the affordability as I was hosting the event. But I did.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem.....one of the highlights!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The conceirge at our hotel recommended Hectors. There were five of us for dinner and the entire restaurant probably holds 20 people if that. The ambience is rustic and intimate. They staff greet you with a big smile and a bowl of warm olives. And then there's the food. We had fettucini alfredo made from the noodles drying in the kitchen, beef bourguignon and duck. Every dish delicious!! I will return every trip I make to Antiqua.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fine food, cozy space, don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hector's is a small space, right across from El Merced church. Two cozy rooms, open kitchen, charming atmosphere, skilled service.
And really, really good food. We shared the carpaccio - which was incredibly good, clean sharp flavours with lemon and oil complementing the very good beef - as an appetizer. My partner had the pasta special, a carbonara with homemade noodles. I had a beef tenderloin steak sandwich, cooked perfectly with great frites.
We were too full for desert, but they looked good. (Though large enough for two.)
Meal, tip and two large glasses of the house red came in under $40. High for Guatemala, obviously, but the meal was completely worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This small and oddly laid out restaurant is one of the main culinary attractions in Antigua for a reason. The menu is small but extremely good. Thinking about this place makes my mouth water as I type this - that says it all.
Don't miss it if you're in the area. It's just down the road from La Merced, the big yellow church.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hector's Bistro also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Hector's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hector's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.