We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy mountain getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earth Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Earth Lodge
Save
You added Earth Lodge to your Saves list
Aldea El Hato, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy mountain getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the earth lodge for a couple of nights while backpacking in Guatemala and liked it so much I came back again. It's very easy to get to from Antigua via the shuttle and as soon as you arrive you feel miles away from the town with the views of the mountains. The lodge itself is very cosy and homely with a real fire and the food was always delicious. I stayed in the dorm room which was very acceptable with lots of warm blankets. During the day there is the opportunity to hike around the beautiful surroundings and try to find the waterfall. This is certainly a very relaxing place to come for a few day to enjoy the views, food and scenery and I was made to feel very at home. Thank you earth lodge :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    38
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
87
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What an amazing place to relax, meet new people and enjoy nature. I stayed at the Earth Lodge for 2 nights. The staff are extremely accommodating, friendly and even know your name! I came here feeling under the weather and sprung back to health in no time thanks to some TLC =)

The food is amazing! Sooo many fruits and vegetables! The soups, breakfasts, sandwiches are awesome! I highly suggest staying for dinner. It is served 'family style' which fosters amazing conversations, laughs and wine!

All in all, this has been a great escape from the crowded and noisy streets of Antigua. COME! that is all I have to say :)

Keep shinning ~

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My friends and I visited this hostel/restaurant for a Sunday-funday. They have a beautiful property with gorgeous views of the local volcanoes and Antigua. It is well off the beaten path but cheap shuttles are available. They had great food and live music at the barbecue, I would recommend a stop here to all travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Gorgeous, tranquil, fantastic staff....amazing views. The moment you arrive, there is a fantastic relaxed vibe that immediately takes effect. A place not to be missed. Every night there is a delicious vegetarian meal, well worth the amount charged. The Casa Buena Vista cabin was delightful! Just what we needed after a few hot days at the beach. I will return.

Room Tip: Casa Buena Vista...has a bathroom next door with a wonderful hot shower. The tree houses are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Catalina, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

After spending a few days in Antigua, we were looking for a quite place. We found a flyer of this beautiful Eco minded lodge. The view is spectacular, the owners and volunteers were very friendly. We just booked one night, but wanted to stay longer. Even though they were fully booked, they pitched up a tent for us. All facilities were well maintained and clean, the food and drinks healthy and fresh. If you want to escape the crowds from Antigua, this is a good place to go.

Ps, there is no swimming pool nor a fitness centre, but I couldn't deselect them in the rating:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Friends had recommended Earth Lodge as a "Must do" whilst in Antigua. We decided to give it a go and were not disappointed. I think it is safe to say that it is one of our favourite places that we have visited during our time in Guatemala.

Booking was really easy. We emailed Earth Lodge and they were quick to respond and their emails had a welcoming, friendly tone to them. We were lucky to be able to book the Delux Tree Cabin which has floor to ceiling windows and amazing views. I say lucky as I really would recommend booking in advance as all rooms get booked up quickly. We chose to pay via paypal and this was also quick and easy. Earth Lodge simply send you a payment request and off you go.

You can chose what time you want to go to the Lodge and this is also super easy too. The Lodge runs a reasonably priced shuttle service. You can simply let the guys know when you would like to be collected, and at which of their collection points and that is that.

If you stay the night (you can just visit for the day) there is a set vegetarian, family style meal. I was a bit dubious about this as A) I like to have the choice of what I eat/what am paying for, and B) I'm a bit fussy and was concerned I might not like it. It was so not something I needed to worry about. The food was delicious, so so good. There was great variety to suit everyone and plenty of it. Great value for money. On Saturday there is a meat option for a small additional cost.

The Earth Lodge overlooks the valley between the volcanos Agua, Fuego and Acatenango and is just stunning. As soon as we got there we felt relaxed and at home. The staff are wonderful. Friendly, helpful and welcoming without being over the top. We really couldn't have been happier with our room. It was excellent. Really clean and the bed was very comfortable.

On the Sunday there is live music and a bbq (with meat this time). The food was again delicious and it was wonderful to chill out in a hammock in the sun whilst listening to the music.

Enjoy your stay at Earth Lodge :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We are in Guatemala for volunteer work and on Sunday we decided to pay a visit to Earth Lodge. We called them and took their shuttle and the last 300 meter you walk to their spit. Absolutely great views and very relaxing. Nice BBQ food and some nice life music. Dan the guitarist shared the ride up the place with us.
A great way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Earth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earth Lodge

Address: Aldea El Hato, Antigua, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earth Lodge is a rustic retreat located about 20 minutes by car from Antigua. We are known for our intimate setting, our amazing home cooked meals and our clean comfortable rooms. Perfect for nature lovers, Earth Lodge has one of the best views in Guatemala with 3 volcanoes visible in the valley below.Earth Lodge has a full restaurant and bar, serving breakfast and lunch from menus and a family style dinner each night. We are a family friendly establishment, with a full playground and field for children to play. There is ample hiking in the surrounding farm fields, plus a wide array of board games, books and movies to keep you entertained. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Earth Hotel Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earth Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.