We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing....loud hotel... Small dark interior rooms.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lo De Bernal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lo De Bernal to your Saves list
Hotel Lo De Bernal
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1a Calle Poniente # 23, Antigua, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 100 Antigua B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing....loud hotel... Small dark interior rooms.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great location but this hotel was a BIG disappointment. Our interior room was TINY and HOT. They had no fans, and only one light on the side of the bed. The safe was not locked down. You could hear the noises from other guests all night long. The staff was not very helpful and the breakfast was only fruit and coffee. I would never come back here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
28
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We spent a total of three nights at this hotel and really liked the comfortable beds and clean rooms. Our room was on the main level, but it was not noisy at all (nope, no rooster or barking dogs!!!). Breakfast was served every morning with some breads, fruit salad, juice and coffee, which was fine for us. The location was perfect, only two blocks from some of the main attractions in this amazing town. Staff were very friendly as well. The only "minus" I have for this place is that the rooms were a bit smallish for the price, but once again, they were super clean and comfortable. Antigua is such a great place to visit, we wish we could have stayed longer!! I recommend Hotel Lo De Bernal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had the best stay at hotel lo de bernal. We were only there for 2 night but had been staying in some more basic hotels so this was such a nice treat. The rooms were clean and comfortable with nice touches. The hotel is in a perfect location, close to the main park and square. However, what really made the hotel were the staff, they are so kind and helpful. They did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable, nothing was too much. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Small hotel, rooms are nice, if you can choose, choose second floor, first is noisy. Is 2 blocks away main street, so you can walk everywere. Breakfast is not really breakfast, just eggs ans cereal, but you can easily find something to eat in the area

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Hotel is very nice and in a good location you walk 7 blocks to the main strip where all the bars and clubs are. Wont be necessary for a taxi I didn't take one while there for a weekend. If your going to Antigua stay at this spot its a safe neighborhood. Don't use the tour guides the hotel provides its bit of a rip off but if your there to party and drink Mono Loco is 2.5 blocks right then 5 blocks right.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

They have the most confortable beds I have ever slept in!! Also the hotel is very cozy and well located, near the Calle del Arco. I would totally stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here for one night in January at the end of our trip, when we unexpectedly decided to come back to Antigua and our original hotel was booked up. We weren't expecting much, but I was quite surprised by how nice it was given the rate. I didn't hear the roosters that previous reviewers complained of, in fact, I slept better here than at Posada de Don Rodrigo due to it's slightly less central location and no traffic noise.

Postives
Small inn with boutique feel, including cute courtyard on both lower and upper levels.
Staff spoke enough English that it was never awkward.
Nice sized rooms, comfy beds, impecabbly clean, modern amenities but with quaint Guatemalan charm like wood beams.
Wifi that always worked, even on the second level, farthest from lobby.
Negatives
No bathtub - not a big deal if you like showers, and the showers were capable of getting HOT!
Close to the arch, but 10 minute walk to central park - which isn't a big deal as Antigua is such a picturesque town to walk in anyway.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lo De Bernal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lo De Bernal

Address: 1a Calle Poniente # 23, Antigua, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lo De Bernal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful bed and breakfast located in the heart of Antigua Guatemala, steps away from La Merced Church and Santa Clara Convent offers 9 comfort and private rooms with all the amenities needed to make your travel uncomplicated. Enjoy breakfast at our comfortable dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Lo De Bernal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lo De Bernal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.