We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Luna
Save
You added Hotel Casa Luna to your Saves list
Callejon Camposeco No 1B, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 100 Antigua B&B and Inns
boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value in a convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

We arrived on a Friday afternoon without a reservation and got a clean room with twin beds, shared bath and cable tv for Q120 (about $15). There are also larger double and triple rooms with private bath that were going for Q200, including a rooftop room. There is a computer with internet and a kitchen both free for guests. Casa Luna is 1-1/2 blocks from La Merced and a short walk to the Parque Central. Mario, the manager, is very friendly, speaks excellent English and arranged for a shuttle to pick us up in the morning to go to the airport. It's not fancy, but it is clean and has all the necessities, along with a certain charm. What more do you need?

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
22
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coban
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

A friend recommended this hotel and we arrived on a Sunday afternoon without booking. Luckily they had a room free.

The man at the reception area was really friendly and although our Spanish is good he speaks very good english.

Our room was large with a double bed and a single and a private bathroom. Also a nice view to the church. All nice and clean and very comfortable. It also had a TV with cable and the area is very quite, except for the occasional fire crackers going off outside.... unavoidable in Guatemala!

The hotel is only a few miutes walk from the centre of Antigua but there are also a couple of nice bars and restaurants close by. They do not supply breakfast but there are loads of places in Antigua to eat.

We've been to Antigua 3 times in the last 6 months and wish we had discovered Casa Luna the first time! Highly recommeded although i would try and book if you are arriving on a Friday or Saturday as i think they only have 4 rooms, 2 of which share a bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

I loved this place! Look, it's not a fancy boutique hotel, and it's not priced like one, either. But for a long term traveler like me, it's the best deal in Antigua. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly. The rooms are well appointed and include cable TV, WiFi and great beds. There's a computer available for guest use. There is a kitchen! And a dining room! You're easy walking distance to the market where you'll find some of the best produce in Central America, dirt cheap. Bring it all back to the hotel and make your own feast. The owner, Mario, lives on premise, speaks great English, can book any kind of travel, and is just super friendly and helpful all around. The hotel is small so noise was never a problem, and it's centrally located on a quiet street, so it's easy to walk everywhere in Antigua safely. You just can't get this combination anywhere else in Antigua without paying a whole lot more. If you want quiet, clean, safe and central in Antigua without a lot of frills and without the high costs, this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Sweet and quaint family-run place to stay. Centrally located with all you need, including internet and kitchen, at a very affordable price. The bedrooms were comfortable and clean. Mario is very helpful and friendly. He speaks excellent english too.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — morning noise echoes
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Casa Luna. It is nice, clean, centrally located, and very quiet. We had the roof top room with private bath and its own small, charming garden from which both the cathedral La Merced and Volcán Agua are visible. Casa Luna has free wi-fi, is reasonably priced and has a fully equipped, shared kitchen which further helped stretch our travel budget. The owner, Mario, is a great guy, speaks fluent English and is very helpful whenever anyone has a question or problem. He also runs an on-sight travel agency. I highly recommend the place.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Luna

Address: Callejon Camposeco No 1B, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Luna is a converted colonial house in a safe, central location, four blocks from Antigua's Central Park but quiet and residential. There are rooms with private bath and rooms with shared bath, all with hot water and cable TV. There is a shared kitchen and dining area for guests. Includes free wi-fi with computers available for use. Travel agency on site. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.