We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place - Nice Owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Luna
Save
You added Hotel Casa Luna to your Saves list
Callejon Camposeco No 1B, Antigua 03001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 89 Antigua B&B and Inns
Managua, Nicaragua
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Place - Nice Owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My sister and I decided to come to Guatemala over Thanksgiving and we booked this hotel at the recommendation of a friend who had stayed here in the past. The owner is great, happy and patient to those of us with limited Spanish.This is not a super luxurious hotel but not everyone is looking for that or can afford that. The location is good, the hotel is clean and has warm but not hot showers. The beds were not great but fine for a short trip. The owner helped us with transportation which was really helpful. The place could become a bit noisy too early in the morning for my taste but overall a nice little hotel for the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
22
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I moved here for my final nights in Antigua after the place I was in didn't have availability for my extended stay. The room was v large and had natural light with a window. It was on the back and quiet for sleeping which was a bonus. Apparently there was a roof terrace but it was being refurbished. I wasn't there long enough to need any info about touirs of anything but there was something a little odd about the place - I never saw other guests but did hear someone having a row with the owner. The original price quoted was higher than Casa Cristina next door which it doens't warrent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

There are not enough positive things I can say about Casa Luna! Mario and his staff are wonderful,genuine people who make you feel like family. Mario arranged all the tours for me including a visit to the volcano pecaya, transportation to lake Atitlan and Flores to see Tikal. As a woman traveling in a foreign country alone, safety is very important. Mario arranged for all the transportation to be safe, provided by people he works with on a regular basis. Mario also invited me to his home on Christmas eve and his family is as wonderful as he is. Because he lived in the US for many years before returning to his native Guatemala, he speaks perfect English and his quite familiar with other cultures. The rooms in casa Luna are very clean, there is plenty of storage space and there are hot showers ( not the easiest thing to find in Guatemala). I would recommend this place to anyone and I'm looking forward to bringing my family there in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a week in February. If you want a clean, cheap accommodation, good location and a helpful and friendly owner; this is the place to be. If you expect a 5 star hotel, look elsewhere. Mario is just a great guy. He has a lot of knowledge about the city and he can help to arrange tours and transportation. There is also wifi and a kitchen if you wanna make your own food. We were suppose to stay for 2 nights, but ended up staying for a week. Staying with him is reason enough to select this B&B. We´ll definitely come back, if we´re ever in Antigua. Thanks Mario!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs room if it´s available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Very nice hostel in Antigua.
Mario, the manager, is very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are a bit dark but comfortable, and the bathroom is clean. Nice hot shower (a great thing coming from Nicaragua!) with a clean electric heater.

A bit far away from the center - which is not a bad thing at the end - and close to Iglesia La Merced.
Would definitely come back to that place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

This place doesn't have a ton of frills, but the owner is great. We had a great experience there and were plenty comfortable. The "suicide shower" the previous reviewer wrote about is the electric heated shower, which is one of the nicest I've seen in the years I've spent in Latin America. The kitchen was stocked with everything you need which is a nice change from the hostels that want you to eat at their restaurant.

Mario was up for our 3:30am departure to get to the Guatemala City Airport - that he arranged for definitely the best price we found in town. Wireless worked well. Overall, good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

In the first place, this property is a hospedaje - a hostel - NOT a hotel. It's flying under false colours here.
The room was really ugly, the TV didn't work, and after he (Mario) fixed the TV, the remote didn't work. The computer worked some of the time. The bathroom had a suicide water heater which didn't work well either and the water pressure was about zero.
The "roof terrace" is a single plastic chair set on the roof in front of an extra room he has built up there.
Mario himself was a strange one. He seemed to get stranger as the day went on, starting the morning friendly, helpful and chipper, and kind of devolving into making surprise appearances with his hair standing on end and seemingly frantic about nothing.
It's clean, and the woman who works there is nice, but there were two better - and at least one was also cheaper - places on the same street. The location is great, and safe to walk around at night.
Definitely not my cup of tea, but would be suitable for the young backpacking set, I guess.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Luna

Address: Callejon Camposeco No 1B, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Luna is a converted colonial house in a safe, central location, four blocks from Antigua's Central Park but quiet and residential. There are rooms with private bath and rooms with shared bath, all with hot water and cable TV. There is a shared kitchen and dining area for guests. Includes free wi-fi with computers available for use. Travel agency on site. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.